Structure and organisation

Federal Ministry for Eco­nom­ic Co­op­er­a­tion and De­vel­op­ment (BMZ) in Bonn

There are around 1,000 people working at the Federal Ministry for Eco­nom­ic Co­op­er­a­tion and De­vel­op­ment (BMZ). About 66 per cent of the positions are based at the Ministry's Bonn office, while the others are at the Berlin office. A certain number of staff at the BMZ are regularly seconded from the Ministry for a few years at a time to carry out de­vel­op­ment policy assign­ments in various parts of the world.

The BMZ does not have the usual sub­struc­ture of govern­ment agencies. For the execution of its projects it commissions what are known as imple­menting organisation. These orga­ni­sa­tions then work with executing agencies in the partner country concerned, which are selected by the government of that country.

Senior Ministry officials

The BMZ is headed by the Minister Dr. Gerd Müller, the Parliamentary State Secretary Dr. Maria Flachsbarth, the Parliamentary State Secretary Norbert Barthle and the State Secretary Martin Jäger. The Federal Government Commissioner for Global Freedom of Religion Markus Grübel is also part of the senior management.

The German Chancellor's Personal Representative for Africa, Günter Nooke, reports to the political leadership of the Ministry.

The Directorates-General

The BMZ carries out a multitude of tasks. These include planning and pro­gramming German de­vel­op­ment co­op­er­a­tion, co­op­er­at­ing with civil society and the private sector, co­op­er­at­ing with partner countries and with multi­lateral orga­ni­sa­tions, and carrying out de­vel­op­ment information and education work. Detailed information about the work of the BMZ can be found here.

The Ministry is divided into six direc­tor­ates-general, which are res­pon­sible for the various tasks. A detailed organisational chart with further information about the work of the individual directorates-general and divisions can be accessed by clicking on the link in the column to the right of this text.

Ministry officials abroad

BMZ employees do not only work in Berlin and Bonn; the BMZ and the Federal Foreign Office second officers to work in the field of economic co­op­er­a­tion in partner countries and in­ter­na­tional organisations. Their role is to coordinate de­vel­op­ment activities. Around 120 BMZ employees are currently working in this capacity either in German foreign missions or at in­ter­na­tional organisations.

The BMZ has employees seconded to the following embassies: Accra, Addis Ababa, Bamako, Beijing, Belgrade, Bishkek, Brasília, Cairo, Colombo, Dakar, Dar es Salaam, Dhaka, Hanoi, Islamabad, Jakarta, Kabul, Kampala, Kathmandu, Kigali, Kinshasa, La Paz, Lilongwe, Lima, Lusaka, Managua, Maputo, Nairobi, New Delhi, Ougadougou, Phnom Penh, Pretoria, Rabat, Ramallah, Sanaa, Tegucigalpa, Tbilisi, Windhoek, Yaoundé.

The BMZ also has representatives in the permanent German missions at the following in­ter­na­tional institutions: the United Nations (Geneva and New York), the Orga­ni­sa­tion for Economic Co­op­er­a­tion and De­vel­op­ment (Paris), the European Union (Brussels), the Food and Agriculture Organization (Rome), the World Food Programme (Rome), and the In­ter­na­tional Fund for Agricultural De­vel­op­ment (Rome).

The BMZ also has staff on the boards of the World Bank and the African, Asian, Inter-American and Caribbean De­vel­op­ment Banks.

BMZ glossary

Close window


Share page