The Group of Twenty (G20)

It was back in 1999 that the ministers of finance and central bank governors of the world's 19 largest economies, plus one representative each from the EU and the European Central Bank, first met to discuss important issues concerning the global economy. They now form the Group of 20 (G20), made up of the G7 countries plus Argentina, Australia, Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey and the European Union.

The G20 is an informal forum. Following the economic and financial crisis the leading industrialised countries and emerging economies decided to make it the foremost coordinating body for economic and financial issues. Now it is not only the G20 ministers of finance that meet but also the heads of state and government.

The G20 nations account for more than 85 per cent of global GDP and three quarters of global trade. They are home to about two thirds of the world's population.

The German government has long been campaigning for development issues to be placed more prominently on the G20 agenda. At the Seoul Summit in 2010, a G20 Development Agenda was adopted, setting out a Multi-Year Action Plan.

German G20 Presidency

Logo: G20 Germany

Germany took on the G20 Presidency on 1 December 2016, adopting the slogan "Shaping an interconnected world".

The German Development Ministry (BMZ) was greatly involved in defining the German G20 agenda. The development policy issues selected all centred around the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the Paris climate agreement.

Other important topics on Germany's G20 agenda were the G20 partnership it launched with Africa and the promotion of youth employment in rural areas.

Under the G20 presidency a number of high-level conferences took place: on 27 and 28 April 2017 on rural development and on 12 and 13 June 2017 on the partnership with Africa.

BMZ glossary

Close window


Share page