Web-App: Tourismus

Tourism – an opportunity for sustainable development

More and more people are traveling. In 2019, there were more than 1.5 billion international tourist arrivals worldwide, an increase of about six per cent over 2018. It is expected that global tourism will grow up to 2.2 billion arrivals until 2030.

The tourism sector is not only growing quickly and continuously, it is also one of the most important industries in the modern world. In 2018, tourism accounted for more than ten per cent of global GDP (gross domestic product).

About one in ten jobs worldwide is directly related to tourism. Internationally, tourism is thus economically more significant than automotive products, for example. Read more

Videos

German activities for sustainable tourism

One goal of German development cooperation is to harness the potential of tourism for sustainable development while minimising any risks that may arise, such as harmful impacts on the global climate and overexploitation of natural environments.

In its efforts to support tourism in its partner countries, Germany seeks to foster respect for human rights and the introduction and enforcement of minimum social and environmental standards. Read more

Examples from our work

Examples from our work

KAZA: Transfrontier nature conservation

One of the world's largest nature conservation areas has been created in Southern Africa. 36 conservation areas and national parks in Angola, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia have been linked to form the Kavango Zambezi Transfrontier Conservation Area (KAZA TFCA).

Agro-tourism in Kyrgyzstan

In order to increase the competitiveness of Kyrgyzstan's economy, Germany is promoting its sustainable development. This cooperation centres around various sectors of the economy, including agro-tourism.

Morocco: Tourism for a better future

In rural parts of Morocco, job and income opportunities are very limited. At the same time, these areas offer untouched nature and numerous cultural attractions.

Development of Albania's southern coastal region

The number of people visiting the coastal regions of Southern Albania is growing, yet so far local people have benefited little from these activities. Germany is supporting the sustainable economic development of this region.

Malawi: More jobs in rural regions

One of the aims of German development cooperation with Malawi is to create income and jobs in rural regions, in order to reduce poverty. Tourism is a great opportunity to achieve these aims.

Developing tourism in Western Nepal

Although the western part of Nepal has much to offer tourists, the region's potential as a tourist destination has not yet been fully tapped. Germany is therefore involved in development cooperation measures to support the Nepalese government's efforts to foster the tourism sector.

Madagascar: Conservation and sustainable use of natural resources

Germany is supporting the Government of Madagascar in its biodiversity conservation efforts, and is promoting the sustainable use of natural resources. One focus of these efforts is on expanding ecotourism.

Ethiopia: Sustainable management of national parks

So far, support for tourism in Ethiopia has focused mainly on historical and cultural attractions, for instance the country's nine UNESCO World Heritage Sites. But Ethiopia also has vast biodiversity, which could still be put to better use for tourism.

Southern Africa: Establishing transboundary protected areas

In order to conserve biodiversity, the Southern African Development Community (SADC) supports the establishment of transboundary protected areas and helps develop programmes and strategies for their sustainable management.

Rwanda: Fostering economic development and job creation through tourism

Rwanda wants to develop the tourism industry. As early as in 2009, it adopted a master plan for the sustainable development of tourism. As part of its programme to foster economic development and job creation ("Eco-Emploi"), Germany supports the implementation of the plan.

Jordan: Developing a new tourism strategy

The difficult political situation in Jordan's neighbouring countries has thrown Jordan's tourism sector into crisis. Efforts are therefore under way to develop new and sustainable tourism strategies that actively involve local communities.

Laos: Fostering sustainable tourism

Tourism is an important growth industry in Laos. It accounts for seven to nine per cent of gross domestic product, contributes significantly to the creation of new jobs and constitutes an important source of foreign exchange earnings.

Laos: Protecting biodiversity in the Hin Nam No region

The Hin Nam No conservation area in Laos, which is situated on the Vietnamese border, is one of the world's largest karst regions. It is home to endangered species such as leopards, and to a vast range of plants. Germany supports the protection of this region.

Myanmar: Integrating local communities in the tourism sector

Since the beginning of the political transformation in Myanmar, rising numbers of tourists have visited the country. Germany supports Myanmar in integrating local communities in the tourism sector, fostering good governance and protecting the environment.

Palestinian territories: Sustainable economic development through tourism

As part of its cooperation with the Palestinian territories in the field of sustainable economic development and job creation, Germany supports the Palestinian Holy Land Incoming Tour Operators Association (HLITOA) in developing new tours.

North Macedonia: Tourism as a driver of rural development

North Macedonia is an ideal destination for nature lovers. The small landlocked country at the centre of the Balkan Peninsula has mountains, lakes and a vast range of plant and animal species. The government is working to develop the tourism sector in order to achieve economic and social development.

Mongolia: More income through tourism

As part of a trilateral cooperation programme with Thailand and Mongolia, Germany supports a sustainable tourism development project with a focus on three Mongolian provinces. Its purpose is to improve job opportunities for people in rural areas and to bolster local people's incomes through additional income from tourism.

Togo: Fostering regional development through tourism

As part of a programme to foster good governance and decentralisation in Togo, Germany is supporting activities for the development of tourism. Initially, these efforts will be focusing on the municipality of Kpalimé.

Web-App: Tourismus

Tourismus – eine Chance für nachhaltige Entwicklung

Immer mehr Menschen reisen. Im Jahr 2019 wurden weltweit etwa 1,5 Milliarden internationale touristische Ankünfte verzeichnet. Das sind etwa sechs Prozent mehr als noch im Vorjahr. Es wird erwartet, dass der globale Tourismus bis 2030 auf knapp 2,2 Milliarden Ankünfte anwächst.

Der Tourismussektor wächst nicht nur schnell und beständig, er ist auch einer der bedeutendsten Wirtschaftszweige der Gegenwart. Im Jahr 2018 trug er mehr als zehn Prozent zur globalen Wirtschaftsleistung bei. Etwa jede beziehungsweise jeder zehnte Angestellte auf der Welt hat einen Job, der im direkten Zusammenhang mit dem Tourismus steht. – Die weltweite wirtschaftliche Bedeutung der Tourismusbranche ist somit höher als beispielsweise die der Automobilindustrie. Weiterlesen

Videos

Deutsches Engagement für nachhaltigen Tourismus

Die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit hat das Ziel, die Potenziale des Tourismus für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung zu nutzen und mögliche Risiken wie klimaschädliche Auswirkungen und die Übernutzung von Naturräumen zu minimieren.

Bei der Förderung von Tourismus in seinen Partnerländern setzt sich Deutschland für die Wahrung der Menschenrechte und die Einführung und Umsetzung von sozialen und ökologischen Mindeststandards ein. Weiterlesen

Beispiele aus der Praxis

Beispiele aus der Praxis

KAZA: Naturschutz über alle Grenzen hinweg

Im südlichen Afrika ist eines der größten Naturschutzgebiete der Welt entstanden. 36 Schutzgebiete und Nationalparks in Angola, Sambia, Simbabwe, Botsuana und Namibia wurden zur Kavango Zambezi Transfontier Conservation Area (KAZA TFCA) verbunden.

Agrotourismus in Kirgisistan

Um die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Wirtschaft in Kirgisistan zu erhöhen, fördert Deutschland ihre nachhaltige Entwicklung. Im Mittelpunkt der Zusammenarbeit stehen verschiedene Branchen, unter anderem der Agro-Ökotourismus.

Marokko: Tourismus für die Zukunft

In ländlichen Regionen Marokkos gibt es nur wenige Beschäftigungs- und Einkommensmöglichkeiten. Gleichzeitig bieten diese Gegenden unberührte Natur sowie zahlreiche kulturelle Sehenswürdigkeiten.

Entwicklung der südlichen Küstenregion Albaniens

Die Besucherzahlen in den Küstenregionen im Süden Albaniens wachsen, allerdings profitiert die einheimische Bevölkerung bisher nur wenig davon. Deutschland unterstützt die nachhaltige wirtschaftliche Entwicklung der Region.

Malawi: Mehr Arbeitsplätze im ländlichen Raum

Die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit mit Malawi hat das Ziel, in ländlichen Regionen Einkommen und Beschäftigung zu schaffen, um die Armut zu vermindern. Eine große Chance dazu bietet der Tourismus.

Tourismus im Westen Nepals erschließen

Obwohl der Westen Nepals Touristen viel zu bieten hat, ist das Potenzial der Region noch nicht ausgeschöpft. Die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit unterstützt die nepalesische Regierung deshalb bei der Förderung des Tourismussektors.

Madagaskar: Schutz und nachhaltige Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen

Deutschland unterstützt die Regierung Madagaskars beim Schutz der Artenvielfalt und fördert nachhaltige Nutzungsformen der natürlichen Ressourcen. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Ausweitung von Ökotourismus.

Äthiopien: Nachhaltiges Nationalpark-Management

Die Tourismusförderung in Äthiopien konzentrierte sich bisher vor allem auf historische und kulturelle Attraktionen, wie die neun UNESCO-Welterbestätten im Land. Doch Äthiopien verfügt auch über eine reiche biologische Vielfalt, die touristisch besser genutzt werden könnte.

Südliches Afrika: Grenzüberschreitende Schutzgebiete einrichten

Um die Artenvielfalt zu erhalten, unterstützt die Entwicklungsgemeinschaft des südlichen Afrika (SADC) die Einrichtung grenzüberschreitender Schutzgebiete in der Region und entwickelt Programme und Strategien für ihr nachhaltiges Management.

Ruanda: Wirtschafts- und Beschäftigungsförderung durch Tourismus

Die Regierung will den Tourismussektor in Ruanda weiterentwickeln und hat bereits 2009 einen Masterplan erstellt. Im Rahmen des "Programms zur Förderung von Wirtschaft und Beschäftigung" (Eco-Emploi) unterstützt Deutschland die Umsetzung des Plans.

Jordanien: Neue Tourismusstrategie entwickeln

Durch die schwierige politische Lage in den Nachbarländern ist der Tourismussektor in Jordanien in eine tiefe Krise geraten. Darum sollen neue nachhaltige Tourismusstrategien entwickelt werden, die lokale Gemeinden aktiv miteinbeziehen.

Laos: Nachhaltigen Tourismus fördern

Tourismus ist ein wichtiger Wachstumssektor für Laos. Er trägt wesentlich zur Entstehung neuer Arbeitsplätze bei und ist ein bedeutender Devisenbringer. Deutschland unterstützt lokale Partner bei einer nachhaltigen Tourismusentwicklung und bei der Anwendung der ASEAN-Tourismusstandards.

Laos: Die Artenvielfalt der Hin-Nam-No-Region bewahren

Das an der Grenze zu Vietnam gelegene nationale laotische Schutzgebiet Hin Nam No ist eine der ausgedehntesten Karstregionen der Welt. Hier leben bedrohte Tierarten wie zum Beispiel Leoparden und es gibt eine große Vielfalt von Pflanzenarten. Deutschland unterstützt den Schutz der Region.

Myanmar: Lokale Gemeinden in den Tourismussektor integrieren

Seit Beginn des politischen Transformationsprozesses steigt die Zahl der Menschen, die Myanmar besuchen. Deutschland unterstützt Myanmar bei der Integration lokaler Gemeinden in den Tourismussektor.

Palästinensische Gebiete: Nachhaltige Wirtschaftsentwicklung durch Tourismus

Im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit mit den Palästinensischen Gebieten im Bereich "Nachhaltige Wirtschaftsentwicklung und Beschäftigungsförderung" unterstützt Deutschland den Reiseveranstalterverband HLITOA bei der Entwicklung von neuen Reiserouten.

Nordmazedonien: Tourismus als Motor für ländliche Entwicklung

Für Naturliebhaber ist Nordmazedonien ein Geheimtipp: Der kleine Binnenstaat im Zentrum der Balkanhalbinsel bietet Berge, Seen und eine vielfältige Tier- und Pflanzenwelt. Die Regierung fördert den Tourismussektor als Mittel zur wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Entwicklung. Deutschland unterstützt das Land dabei.

Mongolei: Mehr Einkommen durch Tourismus

Im Rahmen einer trilateralen Zusammenarbeit mit Thailand und der Mongolei fördert Deutschland ein Projekt zur nachhaltigen Tourismusentwicklung, das sich auf drei mongolische Provinzen konzentriert. Ziel ist es, die Beschäftigungschancen in ländlichen Gebieten zu erhöhen und das bestehende Einkommen der Bevölkerung durch Einnahmen aus dem Tourismus zu ergänzen.

Togo: Regionale Entwicklung durch Tourismus fördern

Im Rahmen eines Programms zur Unterstützung von guter Regierungsführung und Dezentralisierung fördert Deutschland in Togo Maßnahmen zur Tourismusentwicklung in Kpalimé. Ziel ist es, Tourismus zu einem wirtschaftlichen Standbein für die Entwicklung der Region zu machen.