German activities

German activities for sustainable tourism

One goal of German development cooperation is to harness the potential of tourism for sustainable development while minimising any risks that may arise, such as harmful impacts on the global climate and overexploitation of natural environments.

In its efforts to support tourism in its partner countries, Germany seeks to foster respect for human rights and the introduction and enforcement of minimum social and environmental standards.

Projects with broad sets of objectives

In the tourism sector, the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) supports mainly projects that address multiple goals, such as sustainable economic development, natural resource management, biodiversity conservation, climate action, resource efficiency, vocational education, and community and regional development. In total, the BMZ currently operates over one hundred projects that have tourism components.

Besides a number of integrated experts sent by the Centrum für internationale Migration und Entwicklung (International Centre for Migration and Development, CIM) there are also many development workers who are involved in activities in the tourism sector.

Protection of children and youth

The BMZ is involved in implementing the German government's interdepartmental Plan of Action for the Protection of Children and Teenagers from Sexual Violence and Exploitation. It supports organisations that are active in this field and funds appropriate measures in its partner countries, often collaborating with tour operators.

Development education

As part of the educational aspect of its work, the BMZ provides comprehensive information about developing countries and raises German tourists' awareness of socially responsible and eco-friendly travel.

Cooperation with the private sector

Cooperation with the tourism industry is a key issue for the BMZ. This is not only about making sure that tourism itself will develop in a socially and environmentally sound manner but also about using it as a driver for sustainable development across industries. This requires all players to assume social responsibility, and interaction with private sector players must become part of German development cooperation programmes.

Tour operators should use their expertise, creativity, capital and innovative capacity in the countries where their target destinations are in order to help reduce poverty. One way in which the BMZ supports them is by working for a better business environment in its partner countries. For example, it seeks to foster legal certainty and good governance, it supports investment and the tapping of new markets, and it assists with training for skilled staff.

In addition, the Ministry provides funding and expertise to German and European tour operators so that they can make their operations in developing countries and emerging economies sustainable, inclusive and socially compatible.

To that end, the BMZ uses a broad range of instruments, such as the develoPPP.de programme, integrated development partnerships and the lab of tomorrow and the matching platform leverist.de.

Industry dialogue on tourism for sustainable development

In March 2016, the BMZ together with the German Tourism Industry launched an industry dialogue on tourism for sustainable development. Representatives of the political arena, the tourism industry, civil society and academia meet twice a year in order to develop solutions for tourist destinations so as to harness the potential of tourism for sustainable development.

Development scout working at German Travel Association

Under the BMZ's "development scout" programme, an expert for development cooperation and tourism has been working at the German Travel Association (DRV) since autumn 2017. Thanks to her expertise on the interface between tourism and development cooperation, she helps this industry federation to tap synergies and provides advice to tour operators that want to get involved in development-related activities.

Deutsches Engagement

Deutsches Engagement für nachhaltigen Tourismus

Die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit hat das Ziel, die Potenziale des Tourismus für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung zu nutzen und mögliche Risiken wie klimaschädliche Auswirkungen und die Übernutzung von Naturräumen zu minimieren.

Bei der Förderung von Tourismus in seinen Partnerländern setzt sich Deutschland für die Wahrung der Menschenrechte und die Einführung und Umsetzung von sozialen und ökologischen Mindeststandards ein.

Vorhaben mit übergreifender Zielsetzung

Das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) fördert im Tourismusbereich vor allem Vorhaben mit übergreifender Zielsetzung wie nachhaltige Wirtschaftsentwicklung, Management natürlicher Ressourcen, Erhalt der Biodiversität, Klimaschutz, Ressourceneffizienz, Berufsbildung sowie Gemeindeförderung und Regionalentwicklung.

Insgesamt werden weltweit derzeit über 100 Vorhaben mit einer Tourismuskomponente umgesetzt.

Neben einigen Fachkräften des Centrums für internationale Migration und Entwicklung (CIM) sind im Tourismusbereich eine Vielzahl von Entwicklungshelferinnen und -helfern im Einsatz.

Schutz von Kindern und Jugendlichen

Das BMZ beteiligt sich an der Umsetzung des ressortübergreifenden Aktionsplans der Bundesregierung zum Schutz von Kindern und Jugendlichen vor sexueller Gewalt und Ausbeutung. Das Ministerium unterstützt Organisationen, die sich in diesem Bereich engagieren, und fördert – häufig gemeinsam mit Tourismusunternehmen – geeignete Maßnahmen in den Kooperationsländern.

Entwicklungspolitische Bildungsarbeit

Im Rahmen seiner entwicklungspolitischen Bildungsarbeit stellt das BMZ umfassende Informationen über Entwicklungsländer zur Verfügung und sensibilisiert deutsche Touristen für sozialverantwortliches und umweltgerechtes Reisen.

Zusammenarbeit mit der Wirtschaft

Ein zentrales Anliegen des BMZ ist die Zusammenarbeit mit der touristischen Privatwirtschaft. Dabei geht es nicht nur darum, dass sich der Tourismus selbst sozialverträglich und umweltgerecht entwickelt, sondern auch darum, dass er als Motor für eine branchenübergreifende nachhaltige Entwicklung genutzt werden kann. Dafür müssen alle Akteure gesellschaftliche Verantwortung übernehmen und privatwirtschaftliche Kooperationspartner in die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit einbezogen werden.

Reiseunternehmen sind aufgefordert, Fachwissen, Kreativität, Kapital und Innovationskraft in den Ländern einzusetzen, in denen ihre Reiseziele liegen, um dadurch einen Beitrag zur Armutsbekämpfung zu leisten. Das BMZ unterstützt sie dabei, indem es sich für bessere Voraussetzungen in den Partnerländern engagiert. Es fördert zum Beispiel Rechtssicherheit und gute Regierungsführung, unterstützt Investitionen und die Erschließung neuer Märkte und fördert Aus- und Fortbildungen für Fachkräfte.

Außerdem werden deutsche und europäische Touristikunternehmen finanziell und fachlich dabei unterstützt, ihr Engagement in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern nachhaltig, breitenwirksam und sozialverträglich zu gestalten.

Hierzu hält das BMZ ein vielfältiges Instrumentarium bereit, zum Beispiel das develoPPP.de-Programm, integrierte Entwicklungspartnerschaften oder das lab of tomorrow. oder die Matching-Plattform leverist.de.

Branchendialog "Tourismus für nachhaltige Entwicklung"

Im März 2016 hat das BMZ gemeinsam mit der Tourismusbranche einen Branchendialog "Tourismus für nachhaltige Entwicklung" ins Leben gerufen. Bei den halbjährlichen Treffen kommen Vertreterinnen und Vertreter aus Politik, Tourismuswirtschaft, Zivilgesellschaft und Wissenschaft zusammen, um Lösungen für touristische Zielregionen zu erarbeiten und so die Potenziale des Tourismus für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung auszuschöpfen.

EZ-Scout beim Deutschen Reiseverband

Im Rahmen des "EZ-Scout-Programms" arbeitet seit Herbst 2017 eine Fachkraft für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und Tourismus beim Deutschen Reiseverband (DRV). Als Expertin an der Schnittstelle zwischen Tourismus und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zeigt sie Synergieeffekte auf und berät Tourismusunternehmen, die sich entwicklungspolitisch engagieren möchten.