Southern Africa: Protected areas

Southern Africa: Establishing transboundary protected areas

Southern Africa's natural resources and cultural heritage attract visitors from all over the world. The number of international tourist arrivals in the region in 2017 was about 25 million, and it is expected that it will rise to more than 40 million over the next ten years. Preservation and sustainable use of the region's natural and cultural heritage are key prerequisites for continued good development of tourism in the region.

Sustainable management of protected areas

However, local ecosystems are under threat because of population growth and the resulting increased need for agricultural land. The deforestation rate in the region is the highest in all of Africa. Poaching has increased again for some time, including in protected areas.

In order to conserve biodiversity, the Southern African Development Community (SADC) supports the establishment of transboundary protected areas and helps develop programmes and strategies for their sustainable management. Germany is supporting this process through its programme for the transboundary protection and use of natural resources.

Germany is working with the SADC Secretariat to improve the marketing of the protected areas and to develop tourism programmes together with international and regional tour operators. Since 2017, technical and financial support has also been provided to Southern Africa in order to enable it to take part in international tourism fairs such as ITB in Berlin.

Including local people in tourism value chains

The programmes are intended to ensure that local people will benefit from the protected areas. Transboundary tourism programmes help to create jobs. One example is the Desert Kayak Trail, which tourists can follow in order to explore the ǀAi-ǀAis Richtersveld Transfrontier park between Namibia and South Africa by water and by land. Here, local people can work as river guides and provide lodging and food for tourists.

Project data

Envisaged duration: June 2015 to December 2020

Financial volume: 12.5 million euros

Südliches Afrika: Schutzgebiete

Südliches Afrika: Grenzüberschreitende Schutzgebiete einrichten

Die Naturlandschaft und die kulturelle Vielfalt des südlichen Afrikas ziehen Besucherinnen und Besucher aus aller Welt an. 2017 kamen rund 25 Millionen ausländische Touristinnen und Touristen in die Region, in den nächsten zehn Jahren soll die Zahl auf über 40 Millionen steigen. Der Schutz und die nachhaltige Nutzung der Natur und des kulturellen Erbes sind wichtige Voraussetzungen für die weitere positive Entwicklung des Tourismus in der Region.

Nachhaltiges Management der Schutzgebiete

Die Ökosysteme im südlichen Afrika werden durch das Wachstum der Bevölkerung und die dadurch erforderliche Ausdehnung landwirtschaftlich genutzter Flächen bedroht. Die Entwaldungsrate in der Region ist die höchste in Afrika. Die Wilderei nimmt seit einiger Zeit auch in geschützten Gebieten wieder zu.

Um die Artenvielfalt zu erhalten, unterstützt die Entwicklungsgemeinschaft des südlichen Afrika (SADC) die Einrichtung grenzüberschreitender Schutzgebiete und entwickelt Programme und Strategien für ihr nachhaltiges Management. Deutschland fördert diesen Prozess durch das Programm "Grenzüberschreitender Schutz und Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen".

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem SADC-Sekretariat soll die Vermarktung der Schutzgebiete verbessert werden und Tourismusangebote mit internationalen und regionalen Reiseveranstaltern sollen entwickelt werden. Seit 2017 erhält das südliche Afrika zudem technische und finanzielle Unterstützung für seine Teilnahme an internationalen Tourismusmessen wie der ITB in Berlin.

Beteiligung der lokalen Bevölkerung an der touristischen Wertschöpfung

Auch die lokale Bevölkerung soll von den Schutzgebieten profitieren. Grenzüberschreitende Tourismusangebote wie der Desert Kayak Trail, bei dem Touristinnen und Touristen den |Ai-|Ais/Richtersveld Transfrontier Park zwischen Namibia und Südafrika auf dem Wasser und an Land kennenlernen, schaffen Arbeitsplätze. Die Einheimischen arbeiten als Flussführer und kümmern sich um Unterkunft und Verpflegung der Touristinnen und Touristen.

Projektdaten

Projektlaufzeit: Juni 2015 bis Dezember 2020

Finanzvolumen: 12,5 Millionen Euro