Rwanda: Economic development

Rwanda: Fostering economic development and job creation through tourism

Every year, about one million tourists visit Rwanda. The East African country has vast cultural diversity, breathtaking lakes, and national parks with an impressive wealth of animals and species, including mountain gorillas

Thanks to the country's mild climate, clean environment and good security situation, the tourism sector is constantly growing. Tourism now contributes as much as 13 per cent to Rwanda's gross domestic product and accounts for 11 per cent of its jobs.

The government wants to continue to develop this important industry. As early as in 2009, it adopted a master plan for the sustainable development of tourism. As part of its programme to foster economic development and job creation ("Eco-Emploi"), Germany supports the implementation of the plan.

Tourism programmes in the Kivu region

Germany's activities focus on the region around Lake Kivu, which has vast potential for tourist activities such as hiking and cycling. The aim of the activities is to further improve tourism programmes and create new business and employment opportunities.

Working together with private and public partners, Eco-Emploi has provided training to tour guides, tour operators and hotel managers on topics such as food services, management, housekeeping management and tour guide skills. Moreover, trainers for the tourism and hospitality industry have been trained. The services provided by municipal tourism projects have been expanded, and new hiking trails have been designated.

Under the umbrella of the local chamber of tourism, a tourism organisation for the Kivu region has been established, which promotes the region at specialised fairs and helps with networking among important players.

Jean Bosco talks about his work in Rwanda

Jean Bosco works for the German government. In Rwanda, he is involved in a project that helps public and private partners to create new jobs. As part of the project, tourism opportunities in Western Rwanda are being optimised.

Project data

Envisaged duration: June 2016 to December 2019

Financial volume: 23,354,440 euros

Ruanda: Wirtschaftsförderung

Ruanda: Wirtschafts- und Beschäftigungsförderung durch Tourismus

Jedes Jahr kommen rund eine Million Touristinnen und Touristen nach Ruanda. Das ostafrikanische Land bietet eine große kulturelle Vielfalt, atemberaubende Seenlandschaften und Nationalparks mit einer eindrucksvollen Tier- und Artenvielfalt – unter anderem leben dort Berggorillas.

Das milde Klima, die saubere Umwelt und die gute Sicherheitslage ermöglichen ein stetiges Wachstum des Tourismussektors. Er trägt mittlerweile 13 Prozent zum Bruttoinlandsprodukt bei und sorgt für elf Prozent der Arbeitsplätze in Ruanda.

Die Regierung will diesen wichtigen Wirtschaftsbereich weiterentwickeln und hat bereits 2009 einen Masterplan für nachhaltige Tourismusentwicklung erstellt. Im Rahmen des "Programms zur Förderung von Wirtschaft und Beschäftigung" (Eco-Emploi) unterstützt Deutschland die Umsetzung des Plans.

Tourismusangebote in der Kivu-Region

Die deutschen Maßnahmen konzentrieren sich auf die Region rund um den Kivu-See, die viele Möglichkeiten für touristische Aktivitäten wie Wandern und Radfahren bietet. Ziel ist, die Tourismusangebote weiter zu verbessern und neue Geschäfts- und Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten zu schaffen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit privaten und öffentlichen Partnern hat Eco-Emploi Reiseführer, Touranbieter und Hoteliers geschult, unter anderem in den Bereichen Gastronomie, Management, Hauswirtschaft und Reiseleitung. Außerdem wurden Trainerinnen und Trainer für das Tourismus- und Gastgewerbe ausgebildet. Die Dienstleistungen von kommunalen Tourismusprojekten wurden erweitert und neue Wanderwege ausgewiesen.

Unter dem Dach der lokalen Tourismuskammer wurde außerdem eine Tourismusorganisation für die Kivu-Region aufgebaut. Sie wirbt auf Fachmessen für die Region und vernetzt wichtige Akteure.

Jean Bosco berichtet über seine Arbeit in Ruanda

Jean Bosco arbeitet im Auftrag der Bundesregierung in Ruanda. Er ist in ein Projekt eingebunden, das öffentlichen und privaten Partnern hilft, neue Arbeitsplätze zu schaffen. Im Rahmen des Projekts werden auch die Tourismusangebote im Westen Ruandas optimiert.

Projektdaten

Projektlaufzeit: Juni 2016 bis Dezember 2019

Finanzvolumen: 23.354.440 Euro