Palestinian territories

Palestinian territories: Sustainable economic development through tourism

In 2019, approximately four million travelers visited Israel; but only about one third visited the Palestinian territories – which are only accessible via Israel – and less than every 10th tourist spent at least one night in a local hotel. Hence, the Palestinian economy still derives very little benefit from the current touristic boom in the region. However, at the same time, there are sure indications that "Palestine" is advancing to be internationally perceived as a distinctive travel destination and German tour operators are moving forward to include the West Bank in their offers.

The Palestinian tour operators' association HLITOA is therefore focusing especially on targeted destination marketing in selected markets, including the German-speaking countries.

In 2018, tourists from Germany, Austria and Switzerland combined were the second-most visiting group of travelers (358.000 guests), surpassed only by US-citizens.

Using the slogan "Palestine – In the Heart of the Holy Land", the association promotes the Palestinian territories as an independent travel destination nestled between Israel and Jordan.

As part of its cooperation with the Palestinian territories in the field of sustainable economic development and job creation, Germany supports HLITOA's activities. German experts are providing advice to the association and its members on destination development, international marketing and product development, and they help the association get in touch with travel agencies in Europe and North America.

Results to date

Based on earlier project phases, the association presented its dedicated tour catalogue Palästina, Israel & Jordanien in March 2019. Comprising 150 pages, 11 Palestinian tour operators offer about 50 new ideas for traveling in the Holy Land with an emphasis on "Palestine".

The launch of the catalogue in the German-speaking market was accompanied by a marketing and media campaign to expedite sales in European travel offices. In addition, the association continues promoting the destination in key touristic trade fairs such as ITB (Berlin) and CMT (Stuttgart). Steadily growing numbers of booth visitors confirm that the association is on the right track with its efforts.

Meanwhile, Palestinian agencies received first requests from German tour operators, which to date were not featuring the Palestinian territories as a destination.

Project data

Envisaged duration: March 2018 to March 2021

Financial volume: 6 million euros (2015-2018), of which 450,000 euros has been earmarked for tourism

Palästinensische Gebiete

Palästinensische Gebiete: Nachhaltige Wirtschaftsentwicklung durch Tourismus

Im Jahr 2019 besuchten über vier Millionen Reisende Israel. In die – nur über Israel erreichbaren – Palästinensischen Gebiete reisten hingegen nur ein Drittel aller Touristinnen und Touristen und weniger als jede zehnte Person davon übernachtete in einem örtlichen Hotel. Die palästinensische Wirtschaft profitiert damit weiterhin kaum vom touristischen Boom in der Region – gleichzeitig gibt es deutliche Anzeichen dafür, dass "Palästina" zunehmend auch international als Destination erkannt wird, und auch deutsche Veranstalter entdecken das Westjordanland als neues Reiseziel.

Der palästinensische Reiseveranstalterverband HLITOA setzt deshalb vor allem auf gezieltes Destinationsmarketing in ausgewählten Märkten, darunter im deutschsprachigen Raum, aus dem – nach den USA – zahlenmäßig die meisten Reisenden stammen (358.000 Gäste 2018).

Unter dem Slogan "Palästina – Im Herzen des Heiligen Landes" wirbt der Verband für die Palästinensischen Gebiete als eigenständiges Reiseziel neben Israel und Jordanien.

Im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit mit den Palästinensischen Gebieten im Bereich "Nachhaltige Wirtschaftsentwicklung und Beschäftigungsförderung" unterstützt Deutschland die Aktivitäten des Reiseveranstalterverbands. Deutsche Expertinnen und Experten beraten HLITOA und seine Mitglieder in den Bereichen Destinationsentwicklung, internationales Marketing und Produktentwicklung und unterstützen den Verband bei der Vernetzung mit Reisebüros in Europa und Nordamerika.

Bisherige Erfolge

Aufbauend auf früheren Projektphasen präsentierte der Verband im März 2019 den Spezialreisekatalog Palästina, Israel & Jordanien. Auf rund 150 Seiten bieten elf palästinensische Reiseveranstalter rund 50 neue Reiseideen mit einem "Palästina"-Schwerpunkt an.

Begleitet wurde die Katalogeinführung im deutschsprachigen Markt von einer Marketing- und Medienkampagne, um den Verkauf durch europäische Reisebüros zu fördern. Zudem bewirbt der Verband die Destination weiterhin auf wichtigen touristischen Leitmessen wie der ITB (Berlin) und der CMT (Stuttgart). Von Jahr zu Jahr deutlich steigende Besucherzahlen an den Messeständen bestätigen, dass der Verband auf dem richtigen Weg ist.

Erste konkrete Anfragen von deutschen Reiseveranstaltern, die die Palästinensischen Gebiete bislang nicht im Programm führten, sind inzwischen bei palästinensischen Agenturen eingegangen.

Projektdaten

Projektlaufzeit: März 2018 bis März 2021

Finanzvolumen: 6 Millionen Euro (2015 bis 2018), davon 450.000 Euro für Tourismus