Developing tourism in Western Nepal

Tourism in Western Nepal: Tapping unexplored potential

Western Nepal has much to offer tourists: the biggest herd of swamp deer in Asia in Suklaphanta National Park, the majestic beauty of the alpine meadows, forests and lakes in Khaptad National Park and the picturesque hiking trails in the Api and Saipal Mountains. Yet, despite the variety of sights the region has to offer, its tourism potential has not yet been fully tapped. That is why, as part of its development cooperation with Nepal, Germany is assisting the Nepalese government in promoting tourism in the western part of the country.

Tourism Development Society (TDS)

A circle of like-minded entrepreneurs in Western Nepal decided to establish a destination management organisation and founded the Tourism Development Society (TDS) in 2012 with a view to attracting tourists to the region and promoting responsible tourism. The founders committed to pay one per cent of their business revenues to the organisation.

Since 2013, German development cooperation experts have been working with TDS to improve services for tourists and develop new tourism products that will also benefit marginalised groups in the region.

Bringing interest groups together

At a regional workshop on tourism planning organised by TDS in May 2016, 25 organisations from the private sector, the public sector and civil society founded the West Nepal Tourism Alliance. TDS acts as the secretariat for the Alliance and brings the most important interest groups together, in order to create income opportunities for the local people and preserve the region's natural and cultural heritage.

Diversifying products and services

The West Nepal Tourism Alliance promotes the marketing of the region as a tourist destination and, at the same time, works to expand the range of products and services on offer there.

Furthermore, in recent years, TDS has supported the development of numerous different "travel packages" offered by local tour operators. These packages are being offered by 20 local tour operators and 13 tour operators based in Kathmandu.

Tourismus im Westen Nepals

Tourismus im Westen Nepals: Ungenutzte Potenziale erschließen

Der Westen Nepals hat Touristen viel zu bieten: vom größten asiatischen Bestand an Zackenhirschen im Suklaphanta-Nationalpark über die majestätische Schönheit der alpinen Wiesen, Wälder und Seen in Khaptad bis hin zu malerischen Wanderwegen auf den Bergen Api und Saipal. Doch trotz der vielfältigen Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Region ist ihr touristisches Potenzial noch nicht ausgeschöpft. Die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit unterstützt die nepalesische Regierung deshalb bei der Förderung des Tourismussektors im Westen des Landes.

Gesellschaft für Tourismusentwicklung

Ein Kreis gleichgesinnter Unternehmer im Westen Nepals hat 2012 die Gesellschaft für Tourismusentwicklung (Tourism Development Society, TDS) gegründet, um Besucher in die Region zu locken und um zu einem verantwortungsbewussten Tourismus beizutragen. Die Gründer haben sich verpflichtet, ein Prozent ihres Unternehmensumsatzes an die Gesellschaft zu zahlen.

Seit 2013 arbeiten deutsche Entwicklungsexpertinnen und -experten mit der TDS zusammen, um touristische Dienstleistungen zu verbessern und neue touristische Angebote zu entwickeln, von denen auch Randgruppen in der Region profitieren.

Interessengruppen zusammenbringen

Bei einem regionalen Workshop zur Tourismusplanung, der von der TDS im Mai 2016 veranstaltet wurde, haben 25 Organisationen aus dem privaten Sektor, dem öffentlichen Sektor und der Zivilgesellschaft die Allianz für Tourismus in West-Nepal gegründet. Die TDS fungiert als Sekretariat der Allianz und bringt die wichtigsten Interessengruppen zusammen, um Einkommensmöglichkeiten für die Bevölkerung in der Region zu schaffen und das Natur- und Kulturerbe zu erhalten.

Diversifizierung der Produkte und Dienstleistungen

Die Allianz für Tourismus in West-Nepal fördert die Vermarktung der Region als Tourismusziel und setzt sich gleichzeitig dafür ein, die dortige Produkt- und Dienstleistungspalette zu erweitern.
Die TDS hat in den vergangenen Jahren außerdem die Entwicklung von zahlreichen verschiedenen "Tour-Paketen" lokaler Reiseveranstalter unterstützt. Sie werden von 20 lokalen Reiseveranstaltern und 13 Reiseveranstaltern in Kathmandu angeboten.