Myanmar: Supporting locals

Myanmar: Integrating local communities in the tourism sector

For decades Myanmar was very much isolated. Since the beginning of the political transformation in Myanmar, rising numbers of tourists have visited the country. In 2018, there were three million visitors. Myanmar has beaches that seem endless, countless islands, and a lot of untouched nature.

Meanwhile the euphoria of the early transformation days faded, and tourism entered a phase of consolidation and professionalization. After the exuberant growth of those early days, tourism still offers many opportunities, especially for inclusive economic growth.

Since 2012, Germany has been supporting private sector development in Myanmar. The purpose of these efforts is to improve the environment for the sustainable economic growth of micro and small enterprises in selected sectors, including tourism. Germany's activities have been aligned with the country's tourism master plan. It focuses on integrating local communities in the tourism sector, fostering good governance and protecting the environment.

Joint solutions

In Myanmar's largest administrative unit, Shan state, public and private representatives have jointly worked on solutions for conflict-sensitive, environmentally sound tourism management at Inle Lake. The lake is famous for its floating villages and gardens. It is the main tourist destination in Shan State. Through its cooperation with Germany, the regional government wants to foster the participation of micro and small enterprises in economic development.

Among other things, Germany supports its partners in Myanmar by helping to set up tourism organisations and associations, providing training in the area of digital marketing, and organising tourism fairs.

Videos

Results to date

The number of visits to the Inle Lake website has increased. Many visitors choose to download the maps that are available on the website. The organisation of tourism fairs has helped to create new business relations with local suppliers from the agricultural and crafts sectors. In the area of local tourism, 45 per cent of the income stays in the communities.

Project data

Envisaged duration: 2014 to 2021

Myanmar: Lokale Anbieter fördern

Myanmar: Lokale Gemeinden in den Tourismussektor integrieren

Jahrzehntelang war Myanmar weitgehend isoliert. Seit Beginn des politischen Transformationsprozesses stieg zunächst die Zahl der Menschen, die das Land besuchten. Im Jahr 2018 kamen drei Millionen Touristinnen und Touristen. Myanmar bietet ihnen endlos wirkende Strände, unzählige Inseln und viel unberührte Natur.

Obwohl die anfängliche Euphorie inzwischen verflogen ist, bietet der sich professionalisierende Tourismussektor nach wie vor zahlreiche Entwicklungschancen. In diesem Kontext unterstützt Deutschland Myanmar insbesondere bei der Integration lokaler Gemeinden in den Tourismussektor.

Ziel ist die Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen für ein nachhaltiges Wirtschaftswachstum von Klein- und Kleinstunternehmen in ausgewählten Sektoren, unter anderem auch im Tourismussektor. Das deutsche Engagement erfolgt im Einklang mit dem Tourismusmasterplan des Landes. Er konzentriert sich auf die Integration lokaler Gemeinden in den Tourismussektor, gute Regierungsführung und Umweltschutz.

 

Gemeinsame Lösungen

In der größten Verwaltungseinheit Myanmars, im Shan-Staat, haben öffentliche und private Vertreterinnen und Vertreter gemeinsam an Lösungen für ein konfliktsensibles und umweltfreundliches touristisches Management des Inle-Sees gearbeitet.

Der See ist bekannt für seine schwimmenden Dörfer und Gärten und das Hauptreiseziel im Shan-Staat. Die Regionalregierung will durch die Kooperation mit der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit die Teilhabe der Klein- und Kleinstunternehmen an der Wirtschaftsentwicklung fördern.

Deutschland unterstützt die Partner in Myanmar unter anderem auch durch den Aufbau von Tourismusorganisationen und -verbänden, Trainingsmaßnamen im Bereich des digitalen Marketings sowie durch die Organisation von Tourismusmessen.

Videos

Bisherige Erfolge

Die Zugriffe auf die Website des Inle-Sees im Shan-Staat steigen an, viele der Besucherinnen und Besucher der Website laden sich die bereitgestellten Karten herunter. Durch die Organisation von Tourismusmessen wurden neue Geschäftsbeziehungen mit lokalen Anbietern aus der Landwirtschaft und dem Handwerk aufgebaut. Im Bereich des lokalen Tourismus bleiben 45 Prozent der Einnahmen in den Gemeinden.

Projektdaten

Projektlaufzeit: 2014 bis 2021