Mongolia: More income

Mongolia: More income through tourism

Mongolia is particularly popular with nature lovers and adventure tourists. Many areas are nature reserves. In Mongolia, tourists can tour steppe, desert or mountain areas on horseback or go hiking there, and they can learn about old traditions from nomads from various ethnic groups. In 2017, some 470,000 tourists visited Mongolia. The revenue Mongolia was able to generate from tourism during that year was 360 million US dollars, a 24 per cent increase over 2016.

As part of a trilateral cooperation programme with Thailand and Mongolia, Germany supports a sustainable tourism development project with a focus on three Mongolian provinces. Its purpose is to improve job opportunities for people in rural areas and to bolster local people's incomes through additional income from tourism.

To that end, ecotourism and fair tourism programmes have been developed, and Mongolia has received support with regard to marketing them. Tourism development has also been supported at the province and village levels. Thanks to the project, new tours have been developed, for instance to the bow makers of Selenge Province.

Results to date

Tailor-made strategies for the further development of tourism have been developed for the project provinces. In the first season after the start of the project, some 700 local and international tourists came to the three project provinces in summer 2018.

Project data

Envisaged duration: August 2017 to July 2020

Financial volume: 542,000 euros (trilateral cooperation budget)

Mongolei: Einkommen generieren

Mongolei: Mehr Einkommen durch Tourismus

Die Mongolei ist vor allem bei Naturliebhabern und Abenteuertouristen beliebt. Viele Gebiete stehen unter Naturschutz. Wer in das Land reist, kann durch Steppen-, Wüsten- und Berglandschaften reiten oder wandern und sich von Nomaden aus verschiedenen Volksgruppen Einblicke in alte Traditionen geben lassen. Im Jahr 2017 kamen rund 470.000 Touristen in die Mongolei. Durch sie erwirtschaftete das Land 360 Millionen US-Dollar, 24 Prozent mehr als im Jahr 2016.

Im Rahmen einer trilateralen Zusammenarbeit mit Thailand und der Mongolei fördert Deutschland ein Projekt zur nachhaltigen Tourismusentwicklung, das sich auf drei mongolische Provinzen konzentriert. Ziel ist es, die Beschäftigungschancen in ländlichen Gebieten zu erhöhen und das bestehende Einkommen der Bevölkerung durch Einnahmen aus dem Tourismus zu ergänzen.

Dazu wurden Angebote für Ökotourismus und fairen Tourismus entwickelt und deren Vermarktung unterstützt. Der Tourismus wurde auf Provinz- und Dorfebene gefördert. Durch das Projekt sind neue Reiserouten, zum Beispiel zu den Bogenmachern in der Provinz Selenge, entstanden.

Bisherige Erfolge

Für die Projektprovinzen wurden angepasste Strategien zur Weiterentwicklung des Tourismus erarbeitet. Schon in der ersten Saison nach Start des Vorhabens wurden im Sommer 2018 etwa 700 in- und ausländische Touristen in den drei Projektprovinzen empfangen.

Projektdaten

Projektlaufzeit: August 2017 bis Juli 2020

Finanzvolumen: 542.000 Euro (trilaterales Kooperationsbudget)