Morocco: Tourism for a better future

Tourism for a better future in Morocco

In rural Morocco, there are undisturbed natural areas and numerous cultural sites, but job and income opportunities are very limited. Typical examples of this situation can be found in the coastal region of Souss-Massa and in Béni Mellal-Khénifra, a region in the High Atlas Mountains.

On behalf of the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) is working in the two regions to help develop sustainable tourism. The purpose of the projects is to enable the entire local population to benefit from the natural resources around nature parks and conservation areas.

To that end, tourism programmes are being expanded: watersports and fishing, birdwatching, backpacking, and climbing. Moreover, new forms of outreach to attract tourists are being introduced.

There are plans to provide training in sustainable tourism for a minimum of 2,000 people. The projects are intended to help create 50 new small enterprises to provide services for tourists and four new lodging facilities, and to foster the development and marketing of new local products, in order to help the regions become self-reliant, flourishing tourist destinations in the long term.

More jobs and higher incomes

About three years into the project, as many as 432 people (including 186 women) have found a job. Some 1,850 people are benefiting from increased incomes or improved working conditions.

Project data

Envisaged duration: November 2015 to September 2020

Financial volume: 5.77 million euros

Morocco: Tourism for the future

Marokko: Tourismus für die Zukunft

Marokko: Tourismus für die Zukunft

In ländlichen Gebieten Marokkos findet man unberührte Natur sowie zahlreiche kulturelle Sehenswürdigkeiten, es gibt dort jedoch nur wenige Beschäftigungs- und Einkommensmöglichkeiten. Typische Beispiele für diese Situation sind die Küstenregion Souss Massa und Beni Mellal-Khenifra, eine Gebirgsregion im Hohen Atlas.

Im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) fördert die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) in diesen beiden Regionen Vorhaben zur Entwicklung eines nachhaltigen Tourismus. Ziel ist, dass die natürlichen Ressourcen der Regionen rund um Naturparks und Schutzgebiete der gesamten Bevölkerung zugutekommen.

Dazu wird das touristische Angebot ausgebaut: Wasser- und Angelsport, Vogelbeobachtung, Trekking, Klettersport. Zudem werden neue Methoden zur Akquise von Touristen entwickelt und angewandt.

Es ist geplant, mindestens 2.000 Personen im Bereich des nachhaltigen Tourismus aus- und fortzubilden. Durch 50 neue Kleinunternehmen als Dienstleister für Touristen und vier neue touristische Unterkünfte sowie die Vermarktung und Entwicklung neuer lokaler Produkte sollen die beiden ländlichen Regionen auf lange Sicht zu eigenständigen und prosperierenden Touristenzielen werden.

Mehr Arbeitsplätze und höhere Einkommen

Nach rund drei Jahren fanden bereits 432 Personen, davon 186 Frauen, einen Arbeitsplatz. Rund 1.850 Menschen verdienen nun mehr als vorher oder profitieren von besseren Arbeitsbedingungen.

Projektdaten

Projektlaufzeit: November 2015 bis September 2020

Finanzvolumen: 5,77 Millionen Euro

Marokko: Tourismus für die Zukunft