Malawi: More jobs in rural regions

Malawi: More employment and income in rural areas

Located in the south-east region of Africa between Mozambique, Tanzania and Zambia, Malawi is one of the most peaceful countries in this part of the world. Tourists love it for its surprising variety: bathing elephants in Liwonde National Park, lusciously green tea plantations around Thyolo and magnificent sandy beaches along the banks of Lake Malawi. Hikers can enjoy the impressive views from the Mulanje or Nyika Plateaus, nature fans delight at Lake Malawi with its clear water and most biodiverse collection of lake-dwelling fish in the world.

Jobs in the tourism sector

The focus of German development cooperation with Malawi is on the priority areas of basic education, health and rural development; the aim is to create income and employment in rural regions with a view to reducing poverty.

Tourism is a great way to achieve these aims. In 2015, there were already about 200,000 people working in this sector of the economy – forecasts indicate that this number could rise to about 1.3 million workers by 2026.

Preserving the country's natural beauty

On behalf of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) supports the development of tourism value chains in Malawi.

The aim of these efforts is to foster the development of an environmentally and socially responsible tourism sector.

The activities being carried out include training of local micro businesses, improving public-private sector dialogue as well as defining and promoting Malawi's marketing efforts to encourage interest in the destination.

The impacts of the programme include more jobs in rural areas. Public-private sector dialogue boosts the representation of local businesses at national and international levels.

The project has been promoting sustainable management of national resources, since those are the basis for the livelihoods of the people, most of whom earn their living in agriculture. Furthermore, it is also the reason why tourists visit the country and thus a source of attractive employment opportunities.

Nachhaltiger Tourismus in Malawi

Malawi: Mehr Beschäftigung und Einkommen im ländlichen Raum

Im südöstlichen Afrika zwischen Mosambik, Tansania und Sambia gelegen, ist Malawi eines der friedlichsten Länder der Region. Bei Touristen ist das Land wegen seiner überraschenden Vielfalt beliebt: badende Elefantenfamilien im Liwonde-Nationalpark, sattgrüne Teeplantagen um Thyolo und herrlichste Sandstrände am Ufer des Malawisees. Wandernde können die eindrucksvolle Aussicht auf dem Mulanje- oder Nyika-Plateau genießen und Naturfreunde die zahlreichen Buntbarsche im Malawisee beobachten.

Arbeitsplätze im Tourismussektor

Die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit mit Malawi konzentriert sich auf die Schwerpunkte Grundbildung, Gesundheit und ländliche Entwicklung; Ziel ist es, in ländlichen Regionen Einkommen und Beschäftigung zu schaffen, um die Armut zu vermindern.

Eine große Chance dazu bietet der Tourismus. Bereits 2015 arbeiteten rund 200.000 Menschen in diesem Wirtschafsbereich – laut Prognosen könnte diese Zahl bis 2026 auf rund 1,3 Millionen Beschäftigte steigen.

Naturschätze des Landes erhalten

Im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) fördert die Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) die touristische Wertschöpfungskette Malawis. Ziel ist die Entwicklung eines ökologisch und sozial verantwortungsvollen Tourismussektors.

Die Aktivitäten umfassen Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen für lokale Kleinst- und Kleinunternehmen, fördern den Dialog zwischen dem privaten und öffentlichen Sektor und entwickeln Ansätze, um Malawi als Destination besser zu vermarkten.

Zu den Wirkungen des Programms gehört, dass im ländlichen Raum mehr Arbeitsplätze geschaffen werden. Durch Dialoge zwischen dem privaten und öffentlichen Sektor können sich Kleinst- und Kleinunternehmen auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene besser darstellen.

Das Projekt hat bei allen Beteiligten das Bewusstsein für eine nachhaltige Nutzung der nationalen Ressourcen gestärkt. Letztere bilden nicht nur die Existenzgrundlage der zumeist von Landwirtschaft lebenden Bevölkerung – sie sind auch der Grund für den Besuch von Touristen und schaffen damit attraktive Arbeitsplätze.