Laos: Protecting biodiversity

Laos: Protecting biodiversity in the Hin Nam No region

The 88,500-hectare Hin Nam No conservation area in Laos, which is situated on the Vietnamese border, is one of the world's largest karst regions. It is a landscape of breathtaking beauty with unique limestone formations. It is home to endangered species such as leopards, and to a vast range of plants. More than 20 villages are located within the protected area. Their inhabitants depend on the region's natural resources for their livelihoods.

Poaching, illegal logging and lack of enforcement of park rules are increasingly putting a strain on the area's sensitive ecosystem. So far, technical, financial and human resources for the nature reserve's management and protection have been inadequate.

As part of the "Protection and Sustainable Use of Forests and Biodiversity" programme, Germany supports the protection of the Hin Nam No region. The activities are geared towards preserving biodiversity and simultaneously reducing poverty in the local rural communities.

Fostering ecotourism

In order to improve the economic situation of the local people, public-private partnerships are used to develop ecotourism programmes and market them.

If the protected area was given the status of an ASEAN Heritage Park and UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site, the region would become better known and tourism marketing would become easier. Germany therefore supports the development of the Hin Nam No region to become a transboundary UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site.

The German programme is also helping to set up a joint administrative body for the area's integrated regional development. Moreover, efforts are under way to establish a joint protected area management system and strategic, sustainable tourism development efforts.

Germany's approach involves fostering cooperative management forms that bring together authorities and local people to jointly plan the protection and administration of the area.

Such a co-management approach is a new thing in Laos. Villagers are forming committees to protect and manage natural resources in and around Hin Nam No Park based on a predefined plan.

Results to date

The programme has developed a joint management system for the Hin Nam No protected area. Several stakeholders and interest groups are already using the newly developed tourism strategy.

Project data

Envisaged duration: September 2017 to March 2021

Financial volume: 9.95 million euros

Laos: Artenvielfalt bewahren

Laos: Die Artenvielfalt in der Hin-Nam-No-Region bewahren

Das an der Grenze zu Vietnam gelegene nationale laotische Schutzgebiet Hin Nam No ist 88.500 Hektar groß und eine der ausgedehntesten Karstregionen der Welt. Die Landschaft ist von atemberaubender Schönheit mit einzigartigen Kalksteinformationen. Hier leben bedrohte Tierarten wie zum Beispiel Leoparden und es gibt eine große Vielfalt von Pflanzenarten. Im Schutzgebiet liegen mehr als 20 Dörfer, deren Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner von den natürlichen Ressourcen der Region leben.

Wilderei, illegaler Holzeinschlag und der geringe Nachdruck, mit dem die Parkordnung durchgesetzt wird, belasten das sensible Ökosystem des Schutzgebiets zunehmend. Die technischen, finanziellen und personellen Ressourcen für das Management und den Schutz des Naturreservats reichen bisher nicht aus.

Im Rahmen des Programms "Schutz und nachhaltige Nutzung von Waldökosystemen und Biodiversität" unterstützt Deutschland den Schutz der Hin-Nam-No-Region. Das Projekt hat das Ziel, die biologische Vielfalt zu erhalten und gleichzeitig die Armut in den ländlichen Gemeinden zu verringern.

Ökotourismus fördern

Um die wirtschaftliche Situation der lokalen Bevölkerung zu verbessern, werden im Rahmen von Entwicklungspartnerschaften mit der Wirtschaft ökotouristische Angebote entwickelt und ihre Vermarktung gefördert.

Der Status des Schutzgebiets als ASEAN-Heritage-Park und UNESCO-Weltnaturerbe würde die Region bekannter machen und das Tourismusmarketing erleichtern. Deshalb unterstützt Deutschland die Weiterentwicklung der Hin-Nam-No-Region zu einer grenzüberschreitenden UNESCO-Weltnaturerbestätte.

Durch das deutsche Programm wird zudem die Einrichtung einer gemeinsamen Verwaltung für die integrierte regionale Entwicklung der Region gefördert. Angestrebt werden auch eine gemeinschaftliche Schutzgebietsverwaltung und eine strategische, nachhaltige Tourismusentwicklung.

Dabei setzt Deutschland auf ein kooperatives Management, das die Behörden und die lokale Bevölkerung an einen Tisch bringt, um den Schutz und die Verwaltung des Gebiets gemeinsam zu planen.

Ein solcher Ko-Management-Ansatz ist neu für Laos. Die Dorfbewohner schließen sich in Komitees zusammen, deren Aufgabe es ist, die natürlichen Ressourcen in und um den Hin-Nam-No-Park nach einem festgelegten Plan zu schützen und zu bewirtschaften.

Bisherige Erfolge

Das Programm hat ein gemeinschaftliches Managementsystem für das Hin-Nam-No-Schutzgebiet entwickelt. Die neu entwickelte Tourismusstrategie wird bereits von verschiedenen beteiligten Akteuren und Interessengruppen umgesetzt.

Projektdaten

Projektlaufzeit: September 2017 bis März 2021

Finanzvolumen: 9,95 Millionen Euro