Laos: Sustainable tourism

Laos: Fostering sustainable tourism

Tourism is an important growth industry in Laos. It accounts for seven to nine per cent of gross domestic product, contributes significantly to the creation of new jobs and constitutes an important source of foreign exchange earnings.

However, for a small country such as Laos, mass tourism also presents a challenge. It may pose a threat to the country's culture and natural environment, for example through increased traffic and more waste.

Implementing ASEAN standards

Germany is supporting the "RELATED" project (Regional Economic Integration of Lao PDR into the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), Trade and Entrepreneurship Development). As part of this project, assistance is being provided to local partners with regard to the sustainable development of tourism and the application of ASEAN tourism standards.

In addition to training and practical advice, the project includes activities on sustainable production and consumption. This relates to water and energy conservation and the reduction and recycling of waste in travel agencies, hotels, bed and breakfast establishments and restaurants. Such activities do not only protect the environment, they also help to save costs.

In order to create local income, support is also provided to the production of local crafts articles. Publicity campaigns are improving people's environmental awareness.

Results to date

The private sector in Luang Prabang Province has significantly improved its environmental management. This is helping to achieve Goal 12 of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns).

Newly developed crafts products are generating additional income. Thanks to the implementation of ASEAN tourism standards, the quality infrastructure has improved. Moreover, a UNESCO instrument for successful destination management has been introduced. Luang Prabang Province has been presented at various fairs as a sustainable tourist destination.

Project data

Envisaged duration: May 2016 to December 2020

Laos: Nachhaltiger Tourismus

Laos: Nachhaltigen Tourismus fördern

Tourismus ist ein wichtiger Wachstumssektor für Laos. Er macht sieben bis neun Prozent des Bruttoinlandsprodukts aus, trägt wesentlich zur Entstehung neuer Arbeitsplätze bei und ist ein bedeutender Devisenbringer.

Massentourismus ist allerdings für ein kleines Land wie Laos auch eine Herausforderung: Er kann die Kultur und Natur gefährden, unter anderem durch erhöhtes Verkehrsaufkommen und größere Abfallmengen.

ASEAN-Standards umsetzen

Im Rahmen des Projekts "Regionale Wirtschaftsintegration von Laos in den Verband südostasiatischer Staaten (ASEAN) zur Entwicklung von Handel und Unternehmertum (RELATED)" unterstützt Deutschland lokale Partner bei einer nachhaltigen Tourismusentwicklung und bei der Anwendung der ASEAN-Tourismusstandards.

Neben Schulungen und praktischer Beratung gehören Maßnahmen zu nachhaltiger Produktion und nachhaltigem Konsum zum Projekt. Unter anderem geht es dabei um die Einsparung von Wasser und Energie oder die Reduzierung und das Recycling von Abfällen in Reisebüros, Hotels, Pensionen und Restaurants. Diese Maßnahmen schützen nicht nur die Umwelt, sondern helfen auch bei der Einsparung von Kosten.

Um Einkommen vor Ort zu schaffen, wird auch die Herstellung von lokalen Handwerksprodukten unterstützt. Und öffentlichkeitswirksame Kampagnen verbessern das Umweltbewusstsein der Bevölkerung.

Bisherige Erfolge

Der Privatsektor in der Provinz Luang Prabang hat sein Umweltmanagement inzwischen signifikant verbessert. Er trägt damit zur Erreichung von Ziel 12 der Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung bei (Für nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sorgen).

Neu entwickelte Handwerksprodukte generieren zusätzliches Einkommen. Durch die Umsetzung der ASEAN-Tourismusstandards hat sich die Qualitätsinfrastruktur verbessert. Außerdem wurde ein Instrument der UNESCO für erfolgreiches Destinationsmanagement eingeführt. Die Provinz Luang Prabang konnte auf verschiedenen Messen als nachhaltiges Reiseziel präsentiert werden.

Projektdaten

Projektlaufzeit: Mai 2016 bis Dezember 2020