Jordan: New tourism strategy

Jordan: Developing a new tourism strategy

Home to many historical, religious and adventure sites, Jordan offers a unique destination to travellers from around the world. Petra – one of UNESCO's seven wonders –, Dead Sea and Wadi Rum are only some of the country's distinctive locations. Jordan's tourism sector contributes substantially to gross domestic product (GDP), and its reliance on human resources generates enormous income potential for micro, small and medium-sized enterprises (MSMEs). Affected by regional turmoil in 2011, signs of recovery started to show in 2017 with increasing tourist arrivals.

Improving competitiveness

The project "Employment-oriented MSME promotion" aims to support Jordanian micro, small and medium-sized enterprises in line with the government's plans, with a focus on the tourism, food processing, and information and communication technology (ICT), all sectors with considerable growth and employment potential.

The project aims at improving enterprise competitiveness, enhancing the competences within MSMEs and improving the business and investment climate in those sectors.

The project undertook an in-depth analysis of the Jordanian tourism sector specifically looking at opportunities to promote MSMEs. The analysis is based on a participatory approach with the sector's stakeholders and aims to derive and implement concrete actions for boosting MSMEs growth opportunities. The project is currently supporting the digital transformation of tourism service providers and enhancing the industry's linkages locally and internationally.

Project data

Envisaged duration: January 2018 to April 2024

Financial volume: 10 million euros

Jordanien: Neue Tourismusstrategie

Jordanien: Neue Tourismusstrategie entwickeln

Jordanien bietet für Touristen aus der ganzen Welt eine Vielzahl an historischen Stätten, religiösen Orten und Outdoor-Aktivitäten. Die Felsenstadt Petra, eines der von der UNESCO benannten Weltwunder, das Tote Meer oder die Wüstenregion Wadi Rum sind nur einige der beliebten Attraktionen des Landes. Der Tourismussektor leistet einen erheblichen Beitrag zum Bruttoinlandsprodukt. Zudem lebt die Branche von der Arbeitskraft der Menschen vor Ort – eine besondere Chance für Kleinst-, Klein-, und mittelständische Unternehmen (KKMU). Von den regionalen Unruhen 2011 konnte sich Jordanien inzwischen erholen, was sich durch einen Anstieg der Tourismusankünfte 2017 zeigt.

Wettbewerbsfähigkeit verbessern

Das Projekt "Beschäftigungsorientierte KKMU-Förderung in Jordanien" unterstützt diese Unternehmen im Einklang mit den Plänen der jordanischen Regierung. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf Tourismus sowie Lebensmittelverarbeitung, Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien – alles Sektoren mit Wachstums- und Beschäftigungspotenzialen.

Ziel des Projektes ist eine Verbesserung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Kompetenzförderung von KKMUs sowie eine Entwicklung des Unternehmens- und Investitionsklimas in diesen Sektoren.

Das Projekt führte eine umfassende Analyse des jordanischen Tourismussektors durch, um Fördermöglichkeiten für KKMUs aufzuzeigen. Die Daten wurden gemeinsam mit Akteuren der Tourismusbranche erhoben. Ziel ist, Wachstumsmöglichkeiten für KKMUs aufzuzeigen. Aktuell unterstützt das Projekt die digitale Transformation von Tourismusdienstleistern und baut die Zusammenarbeit der Industrie auf lokaler und internationaler Ebene aus.

Projektdaten

Projektlaufzeit: Januar 2018 bis April 2024

Finanzvolumen: 10 Millionen Euro