Ethiopia: Park management

Ethiopia: Sustainable management of national parks

So far, support for tourism in Ethiopia has focused mainly on historical and cultural attractions, for instance the country's nine UNESCO World Heritage Sites. But Ethiopia also has vast biodiversity, which could still be put to better use for tourism.

Lack of technical and financial resources

The government has placed 14 per cent of the country's area under protection. But many protected areas are being used as pastureland, and their natural resources are being exploited. Moreover, national parks often lack the technical and financial resources to effectively protect biodiversity.

Germany therefore supports Ethiopia through a biodiversity and forestry programme, helping the government to improve the management of national parks and to make them more attractive for tourists.

Better conditions for tourism

The programme supports five national parks with a view to optimising their protection and management strategies and methods. The management and monitoring of the parks is being improved through organisational development, capacity building and the provision of equipment. Support is also being provided to the Ethiopian wildlife protection authority. As a result, conditions for tourism are improving as well.

Results to date

One of the five national parks that are being supported has already developed a management plan. Two more plans are being drawn up. New patrol systems have been developed and rangers have received training in law enforcement, anti-poaching activities, wildlife monitoring, and the protection of habitats. At one national park, training has been provided on elephant behaviour in order to reduce risks for visitors and park personnel. At another park, a strategy for a visitors' centre has been developed.

Project data

Envisaged duration: August 2015 to July 2019

Financial volume: 16.5 million euros

Äthiopien: Nationalpark-Management

Äthiopien: Nachhaltiges Nationalpark-Management

Die Tourismusförderung in Äthiopien konzentrierte sich bisher vor allem auf historische und kulturelle Attraktionen, wie die neun UNESCO-Welterbestätten im Land. Doch Äthiopien verfügt auch über eine reiche biologische Vielfalt, die touristisch besser genutzt werden könnte.

Technische und finanzielle Mittel fehlen

Die Regierung hat 14 Prozent der Landesfläche unter Schutz gestellt. Doch viele Naturschutzgebiete werden als Weideland genutzt und ihre natürlichen Ressourcen werden ausgebeutet. Zudem fehlt es den Nationalparks an technischen und finanziellen Mitteln, um die Artenvielfalt wirksam zu schützen.

Deutschland unterstützt Äthiopien deshalb im Rahmen eines Biodiversitäts- und Forstprogramms dabei, das Management der Nationalparks zu verbessern und sie für Touristen attraktiver zu machen.

Bessere Bedingungen für Tourismus

Das Programm unterstützt fünf Nationalparks bei der Optimierung ihrer Schutz- und Managementstrategien und -techniken. Durch Organisationsentwicklung, Kapazitätsausbau und die Bereitstellung von Ausrüstung werden die Parks besser verwaltet und überwacht. Außerdem wird die äthiopische Behörde für den Schutz der Wildtiere unterstützt.

Durch die Maßnahmen verbessern sich auch die Bedingungen für den Tourismus.

Bisherige Erfolge

Einer der fünf geförderten Nationalparks verfügt bereits über einen Managementplan und zwei weitere Pläne sind in Arbeit. Es wurden neue Patrouillensysteme entwickelt und Ranger in den Bereichen Strafverfolgung, Bekämpfung der Wilderei, Wildtier-Monitoring und Lebensraumschutz ausgebildet. In einem Nationalpark wurde ein Training zum Verhalten von Elefanten durchgeführt, um das Risiko für Besucher und Parkpersonal zu reduzieren. In einem anderen Park wurde ein Konzept für ein Besucherzentrum entwickelt.

Projektdaten

Projektlaufzeit: August 2015 bis Juli 2019

Finanzvolumen: 16,5 Millionen Euro