Securing access to land

We support reliable and fair land use and ownership rights

For the rural population in developing countries to be able to survive, it is vital that they have access to land for the cultivation of crops and the grazing of cattle. Unfortunately, interest in land has soared in recent years. Thus, investors are buying up or leasing huge tracts of land in order to grow food crops for export or for use as renewable sources of bioenergy or biofuels.

The interests of these investors are often at odds with those of local farmers and shepherds who were formerly using the land. This is because, often, the latters' land rights were never officially recognised and therefore not adequately protected.

We support our developing partner countries in their efforts to deal fairly with land ownership and land use rights, and to take into account in particular the rights of disadvantaged groups such as smallholders, shepherds and women.

Training Africans to become experts in land policy

Our partner countries in Africa need specialised staff in order to be able to implement a sustainable and equitable land policy on a comprehensive scale. In order to devise suitable basic and advanced training in this specialist field, the experts implementing such measures as part of Germany's special initiative work closely with the African Union, African and overseas universities, and the World Bank. For example, we are helping to set up a centre of excellence in Africa for training in land management and land policy.

Existenz sichern

Wir fördern sichere und faire Landnutzungsrechte

Der Zugang zu Acker- und Weideflächen ist die Existenzgrundlage der Landbevölkerung in Entwicklungsländern. Doch das Interesse an Land ist in den vergangenen Jahren sprunghaft angestiegen: Investoren kaufen oder pachten riesige Flächen, um Nahrungsmittel für den Export anzubauen oder nachwachsende Rohstoffe für Bioenergie oder Biokraftstoffe zu gewinnen.

Die Interessen dieser Investoren stehen häufig im Konflikt mit denen von Bauern und Hirten, die das Land bisher genutzt haben. Oft sind deren Landrechte nicht offiziell anerkannt und daher nicht ausreichend geschützt.

Wir unterstützen unsere Partnerländer dabei, Landeigentum und -nutzung und den Zugang zu Wasser fair zu regeln und dabei die Rechte benachteiligter Gruppen wie Kleinbauern, Hirten und Frauen besonders zu berücksichtigen.

Ausbildung von afrikanischen Experten für Landpolitik

Für eine umfassende, gerechte und nachhaltige Landpolitik benötigen die afrikanischen Partnerländer Fachpersonal. Bei der Aus- und Weiterbildung dieser Experten arbeitet unsere Sonderinitiative eng mit der Afrikanischen Union, afrikanischen und internationalen Universitäten sowie mit der Weltbank zusammen. Unter anderem unterstützen wir den Aufbau eines Afrikanischen Exzellenzzentrums für Landmanagement und Landpolitik.