Better living conditions in Iraq

Better living conditions for refugees and locals in Iraq

More than four million Iraqis are internally displaced, having fled the terror of the organisation calling itself Islamic State. According to UN estimates, one third of them have gone to the Kurdistan-Iraq region in northern Iraq. In addition, 250,000 people from Syria have fled to northern Iraq. In many districts, there are now more refugees than local people.

Supporting local authorities

The Kurdistan Regional Government, with assistance from the international community, is undertaking enormous efforts to meet the refugees' needs. In the Province of Dohuk alone, 18 refugee camps for up to 50,000 people each have been set up, and there are plans for further camps.

On behalf of the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) is working in the camps in the Dohuk region. Working in close cooperation with Welthungerhilfe, the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) and local organisations, GIZ is supporting local authorities' infrastructure development efforts.

For instance, five health posts have been set up in the camps. GIZ has also worked with UNICEF to build seven schools and provide equipment for them. Three further schools are being built in Dohuk and Zakho. Psychosocial support and legal advice for refugees are focus aspects in Germany's programmes. Community centres have been set up for this purpose in six camps. All these activities help improve the living conditions of internally displaced people, refugees and locals.

German Development Minister Gerd Müller made a commitment regarding this project to the Kurdistan Regional Government when he visited northern Iraq in October 2014. So far, the BMZ has provided a total of 37 million euros for this effort. Over the next two years, the successful activities under this project are to be continued and expanded.

Some examples of activities carried out so far

Bessere Lebensbedingungen im Irak

Bessere Lebensbedingungen für Flüchtlinge und Einheimische

Mehr als drei Millionen Irakerinnen und Iraker befinden sich innerhalb und außerhalb ihres Landes auf der Flucht, um dem Terror der Organisation "Islamischer Staat" zu entgehen. Nach UN-Schätzungen ist ein Drittel von ihnen in die Region Kurdistan-Irak im Nordirak geflüchtet. Auch mehr als 250.000 Menschen aus Syrien haben dort Zuflucht gefunden. Nun leben in vielen Bezirken mehr Flüchtlinge als Einheimische.

Unterstützung der örtlichen Behörden

Die kurdische Regionalregierung unternimmt mit Unterstützung der internationalen Gemeinschaft enorme Anstrengungen, die Flüchtlinge zu versorgen. Allein in der Provinz Dohuk wurden 18 Flüchtlingscamps für jeweils bis zu 50.000 Menschen eingerichtet – zusätzliche Siedlungen sind in Planung.

Im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) ist die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) in den Camps der Region Dohuk aktiv. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Welthungerhilfe, dem Kinderhilfswerk der Vereinten Nationen (UNICEF) und lokalen Organisationen unterstützt die GIZ die örtlichen Behörden beim Aufbau von Infrastruktur.

So wurden zum Beispiel fünf Gesundheitsstationen in den Camps eingerichtet. Außerdem hat die GIZ in Zusammenarbeit mit UNICEF sieben Schulen gebaut und ausgestattet. In den Städten Dohuk und Zakho entstehen drei weitere Schulen. Auch die psychosoziale Betreuung und rechtliche Beratung von Flüchtlingen zählt zu den Schwerpunkten des deutschen Engagements. Dafür wurden in sechs Camps Gemeindezentren eingerichtet. Die verschiedenen Maßnahmen tragen dazu bei, die Lebensbedingungen der Binnenvertriebenen, Flüchtlinge und der Einheimischen zu verbessern.

Bundesentwicklungsminister Dr. Gerd Müller hatte der kurdischen Regionalregierung das Vorhaben bei seinem Besuch in der Region Kurdistan-Irak im Oktober 2014 zugesagt. Bislang hat das BMZ dafür insgesamt 37 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung gestellt. Die erfolgreichen Ansätze des Vorhabens sollen in den kommenden zwei Jahren fortgeführt und weiter ausgebaut werden.

Beispiele für das bisherige Engagement (Auswahl)