Projects

One photo – One story

Protecting wildlife from poachers

Morgan Mupenda is a police officer in Zambia. He heads the Rhino Monitoring Group at the Zambia Wildlife Authority in the North Luangwa National Park. He is using his hand-held antenna to locate black rhinos tagged with a transmitter, to track their movements and help protect them from poachers.

Rhinos and medicine

There were once 12,000 of these splendid animals in Zambia. Today they have virtually been wiped out, chiefly through poaching. The demand for rhino horn is particularly strong in Asia, where ground horn is used among other things as a status symbol and supposedly to cure cancer – even though there is no proof that it has any effect.

Together with the Frankfurt Zoological Society, Germany has for many years been supporting the protection of rhinos in the national park. Although the animals had virtually been wiped out, it has since been possible to establish over two dozen rhinoceroses once again. In this setting infrastructure development, reforestation and burgeoning tourism are also creating job opportunities and prospects for the local population. Since leaving school nine years ago, Morgan Mupenda has been working to protect these animals.

To complement this Germany is supporting measures to reduce the demand for poached horn. More horn is bought In Viet Nam than in any other country. Through the GIZ and the non-governmental wildlife monitoring network TRAFFIC, the German government is in dialogue with the agency responsible for traditional medicine at the Vietnamese Ministry of Health. These activities aim to jointly raise public awareness of poaching and the threat posed to rhinos, as well as alternative treatment methods.

Preserving our forests

One of the most crucial functions of forests is their ability to store carbon dioxide, which curbs climate change. For this reason forestry student Shofan Nasrullah is measuring the circumference of a tree in East Kalimantan in Indonesia, to calculate just how much carbon dioxide the forest is capable of storing.

A new source of income from sustainable forest management

Here the aim is to place a financial value on stored carbon dioxide. To achieve this, local inhabitants are being given an opportunity to earn additional income by protecting and sustainably managing the forest.

The Indonesian government’s actions to mitigate climate change include comprehensive reforms in the Indonesian forestry sector, such as the introduction of forestry offices to organise land rights and deliver services to the local population. The offices will also regulate access to the forest and its resources fairly, and at the same time monitor the forest in order to prevent illegal activities.

These reforms are the outcome of the German government's cooperation with Indonesia in the Reducing Emissions from Deforestation and Forest Degradation (REDD+) programme under the Framework Convention on Climate Change. The programme is designed to change the way people think. Forests that are not cleared and remain intact possess financial value for mitigating climate change. They are also able to continue performing their manifold tasks, which include preventing erosion, storing water, preserving biological diversity, and providing their inhabitants with both a place to live and livelihoods.

Sustainable ocean use

Moulaye Wagne is a researcher from the Mauritanian Institute for Oceanography and Fisheries (IMROP). Together with a team from the Banc d’Arguin National Park, he is examining a shellfish for changes caused by pollutants.

Preserving the abundance of natural resources

In a programme in Mauritania supported by the German government, Moulaye is studying how to demonstrate the presence of toxic substances in living organisms. Since mussels filter a very large amount of water they respond particularly sensitively to changes, and are a very good indicator of pollutants contained in water.

Moulaye's research forms part of the first early warning system in Africa to monitor the negative impacts on marine organisms of oil and gas extraction off the cost of Mauritania. The project can also demonstrate indirectly whether industry is taking sufficient measures to protect against pollution and damage to the marine ecosystem.

One million people – a third of the country's population – live along the coast of Mauritania. Preserving fisheries is key to feeding these people. Like the sustainable management of natural resources, protecting the ocean against pollutants is crucial to the country's future. As well as this research project, the German government is therefore also supporting the sustainable management of natural resources and sustainable fisheries.

Benefits for all

Since the 13th century, the Berber women in Morocco have been cultivating the Argan tree. They gather the fruit, remove the flesh and from the small seeds they press a high grade oil which is used in traditional medicine and the cosmetic industry.

Progress from ancient knowledge

This oil is now in increasing demand in Europe too, not least since the latest research results show that it might prevent both cardiovascular diseases and wrinkles.

The Access and Benefit-sharing approach was developed to enable the Berber women, other indigenous peoples and local communities worldwide to share in the profits from marketing their countries’ natural genetic resources, and their knowledge on how to exploit them. It aims to create legislation that will regulate access to natural resources, while at the same time enabling the local population to participate in the profits generated and the knowledge gained from further research. By doing so the ABS approach also aims to create paths out of poverty.

The women in Morocco have also succeeded in marketing the argan oil in Europe. Germany is supporting the women's cooperatives by providing further training, and at the national level is supporting the drafting of legislation to regulate access to these resources.

Mekong Delta: The forest is returning

The forest is returning to the Mekong Delta

The raised bamboo walkway is only half a metre wide. With every step taken it squeaks and sways a little. Thach Soal walks along the wooden path and points to the ground. "Until 1992 there were houses here," the 66-year-old farmer says, "but they were destroyed in a heavy storm."

Nothing is left to show that once there were buildings here. Instead a thick mangrove forest now grows here, with plants up to two metres high. Their fan-like roots have burrowed deep into the ground. The knee-high walkway is meant to ensure that the villagers do not damage the roots on their way to the sea.

The village of Au Tho B in Viet Nam's Mekong Delta is the site of a field experiment. The idea is that the mangroves will stop the advancing sea and protect the land that lies behind them. National and local authorities together with the inhabitants of the coastal villages affected by the encroaching sea are involved in the project. The region is very severely threatened by climate change. The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) has even identified Viet Nam as one of the worst affected of all countries.

Threatened by climate change

Vast areas of the Mekong Delta lie less than one metre above sea level. The rising sea level and the increasing frequency of extreme weather are a growing threat for the region. If sea water floods the fields at high tide or in a storm, they cannot be used for agriculture for years afterwards. In this part of Viet Nam, an important area for growing rice and the country's third-biggest economic region, that is a serious problem. The population density is also high: about one fifth of the country's entire population, roughly 17 million people, lives here.

The protective mangroves often used to end up as firewood. Viet Nam's authorities have long been aware of the problem. They began replanting coastal mangrove forests that had been destroyed back in the 1990s. In Au Tho B there was nothing left back then of the natural forest that had once covered almost the entire coastline in this part of Viet Nam. However, the newly planted mangroves did not thrive. "Back then the people did not give any thought to the environment," says Thach Soal. Apparently many people chopped down the mangroves for firewood or to sell the wood in the market, even though it was forbidden. As a result the mangrove forest did not grow thickly and was not really able to hold back the constantly advancing sea.

German activities

Because of that, since 2011, the German development cooperation programme has taken a different approach: the local people are directly involved in managing the mangroves. The inhabitants of the coastal villages that are involved in the reafforestation have privileged access to the mangrove forest. They are the only ones allowed to collect dead wood and to catch crabs, fish and other sea creatures. At the same time this is the least expensive way to manage the forest.

In Au Tho B this approach has clearly worked: "We now understand that we benefit when we protect the forest together, so we do it of our own accord," says Thach Soal, who – like many farmers in the region – grows onions and chilli peppers among other crops in his fields. He is the spokesperson for a group that GIZ helped found in order to organise the management of the mangrove forests. The group is open to all the people living in the village. Anyone interested in becoming a member does, however, need to give an undertaking to attend the regular meetings and to keep the rules for protecting the mangroves.

Results

"Since the project began our income has risen by about 60 per cent," says Thach Soal. The money earned by selling fish and crabs, and wood collected in the forest has increased considerably. The challenges of climate change will remain for some time to come. Although, as Thach Soal tells us, the region has not experienced a bad storm since 1997, heavy flooding continues to occur.

However, the farmers now worry much less about saltwater getting into their fields and causing severe damage to the soil. "Sometimes we hear the waves beating against the mangroves at night – they’re really loud. But we are no longer afraid of the water."

In Focus: the Caribbean

Maintaining biological diversity in the Caribbean – on land and at sea

The natural riches of the Caribbean are unique. The United Nations calls the countries in this region a "biodiversity superpower". However, that biodiversity is in danger because all too often not enough attention is being paid to preserving it. Furthermore, the islands of the Caribbean, situated just on the edge of the storm-swept Atlantic Ocean, are particularly affected by the impacts of climate change.

An ambitious project that the German government is supporting is seeking to protect the continued existence of this diverse ecosystem.

A region under threat

Extreme weather events are literally eating away the coastlines of the many, often small, islands. Storms and floods destroy not only roads and houses but also agricultural land. Furthermore, since 1980, one third of the coral reefs which are located off the coasts of these islands, forming an important natural barrier against incoming waves and storm surges, have disappeared.

Income from the water

One of the traditional main lines of business on the islands, namely fishing, is affected by the destruction of the reefs. They are one of the world's most biodiverse habitats. However, overfishing and untreated wastewater are threatening this unique underwater world, which is an important source of livelihood for many of the people who live there, and which attracts tourists from all over the world. An intact natural environment is one of the most important attractions that the Caribbean has to offer and provides many people with work and the means to survive.

Acting holistically

In the Caribbean the land and the ocean are one unit. The project Caribbean Aqua-Terrestrial Solutions (CATS) therefore has the aim of protecting the natural environment as a whole. The ridge-to-reef concept – from the rainforests in the mountains to the coral reefs in the sea – takes into account the impact of sustainable agriculture and sustainable forest use, including water supply and wastewater management, on the ecosystems on land and in the ocean.

Protecting biodiversity together

Supported by the German government, the governments of eight Caribbean countries are working with representatives from local businesses and civil society on this programme. Joint action to protect biological diversity is urgently needed, but is not easy to achieve. This is because the Caribbean countries are spread across almost three million square kilometres, which is eight times the area covered by Germany. There are about 40 million people living here on more than 7,000 islands, with very different traditions, administrative structures and economic interests.

Sea and land belong together

Traditionally, the most important economic activity in the Caribbean was agriculture, which is now in second place after the tourism industry and is therefore still of key importance for the people in the region. Agroforestry plays a key role for biological diversity as well. The plants and trees that are grown protect against soil erosion, but agroforestry is responsible for harmful fertilisers flowing via streams and rivers into offshore coastal zones and marine protected areas. That is why the German government is also supporting the area in switching over to sustainable agricultural practices, including water-saving irrigation methods and measures for enhanced water quality.

Marine reserves

As part of the programme, marine protected areas are also being set up in collaboration with local inhabitants and the authorities. In the island state of Saint Lucia a community-based pilot project to protect leatherback turtles that lay their eggs along the Atlantic coast began in 2014. In addition to biodiversity protection the project gives the local people new prospects: whereas before they may have lived by poaching, now they are trained gamekeepers dedicated to protecting the turtles.

These efforts have been crowned with success: poaching has decreased significantly, the protected areas attract environmental tourists and new sources of income have opened up for the local people in hotels, catering, transport and agriculture, because the visitors also create demand for such services.

Understanding and appreciating diversity

In order for the programme to continue to be successful, the younger generation is also being included: schools are integrating the topic of sustainability into their teaching plans. In "summer camps" pupils learn all about the marine protected areas. One way that this is done is through swimming and snorkelling lessons at the coral reef. These activities are fun – and they teach children about the treasures of nature on their own doorstep.

Projekte

Ein Bild eine Geschichte

Schutz vor Wilderei

Morgan Mupenda ist Polizist und leitet die Nashorn-Monitoring Gruppe der Wildtierbehörde im Nord-Luangwa Nationalpark in Sambia. Mit seiner Handantenne peilt er nach den mit Sendern markierten Spitzmaulnashörnern, um ihre Bewegungen verfolgen und sie besser vor Wilderern schützen zu können.

Von Nashörnern und Medizin

Von den stattlichen Tieren gab es einst 12.000 Exemplare in Sambia. Heute sind sie vor allem durch Wilderei fast ausgerottet. Besonders stark ist die Nachfrage nach Nasenhorn in Asien, wo das gemahlene Horn unter anderem als Statussymbol und als vermeintliches Mittel gegen Krebs verwendet wird – obwohl keine Wirkung nachgewiesen ist.

Deutschland setzt sich zusammen mit der Zoologischen Gesellschaft Frankfurt seit vielen Jahren für den Schutz der Nashörner im Nationalpark ein. Nachdem die Tiere zwischenzeitlich ausgerottet waren, konnten inzwischen über zwei Dutzend Nashörner wieder angesiedelt werden. Der Ausbau der Infrastruktur, die Wiederaufforstung und der aufkommende Tourismus schaffen dabei auch Arbeitsmöglichkeiten und Perspektiven für die Bevölkerung vor Ort. Morgan Mupenda arbeitet seit seinem Schulabschluss vor neun Jahren für den Schutz der Tiere.

Parallel unterstützt Deutschland Maßnahmen, um die Nachfrage nach gewildertem Horn zu senken. In Vietnam, dem größten Abnehmerland, tritt die Bundesregierung über die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH und die Nichtregierungsorganisation Wildlife Monitoring Network TRAFFIC in den Dialog mit der für traditionelle Medizin im vietnamesischen Gesundheitsministerium zuständigen Behörde, um gemeinsam die Bevölkerung über die Wilderei und Bedrohung der Nashörner sowie über alternative Behandlungsmethoden zu informieren.

Erhalt der Wälder

Die Fähigkeit, CO2 zu speichern, ist eine der wichtigsten Funktionen von Wäldern, die den Klimawandel bremsen. Deshalb misst Forststudent Shofan Nasrullah den Durchmesser eines Baumes in Ostkalimantan in Indonesien: um zu errechnen, wie viel Kohlendioxid das Waldgebiet speichern kann.

Ein neues Einkommen aus nachhaltiger Waldnutzung

Ziel ist es, dem gespeicherten Kohlendioxid einen finanziellen Wert zu geben. So wird für die Anwohnern die Möglichkeit geschaffen, sich durch Waldschutz und schonende Waldnutzung ein zusätzliches Einkommen zu verdienen.

Zu den konkreten klimaschutzrelevanten Aktivitäten der Indonesischen Regierung gehören umfangreiche Reformen im indonesischen Forstsektor wie die Einführung von Forstämtern, die die Landrechte ordnen und Dienstleistungen für die lokale Bevölkerung erbringen werden. Sie sollen den Zugang zum Wald und seinen Ressourcen gerecht regulieren und gleichzeitig den Wald überwachen, um illegale Aktivitäten zu verhindern.

Diese Reformen sind Ergebnis der Zusammenarbeit der Bundesregierung mit Indonesien in dem Programm zur Vermeidung von Entwaldung und Walddegradierung (REDD+) im Rahmen der Klimarahmenkonvention. Das Programm soll zum Umdenken führen: intakte, nicht abgeholzte Wälder haben einen wirtschaftlichen Wert im Klimaschutz und können darüber hinaus ihre vielfältigen Aufgaben weiterhin erfüllen und Erosion vermeiden und Wasser speichern, biologische Vielfalt erhalten und ihren Bewohnern als Wohnraum und Lebensgrundlage dienen.

Nachhaltige Nutzung der Meere

Moulaye Wagne ist Wissenschaftler am mauretanischen Institut für ozeanografische Forschung und Fischerei (IMROP). Zusammen mit einem Team des Banc d’Arguin Nationalparks untersucht er eine Muschel auf Veränderungen durch Schadstoffe.

Natürliche Reichtümer erhalten

Moulaye erforscht in einem Programm in Mauretanien mit Unterstützung der Bundesregierung, wie man giftige Substanzen in lebenden Organismen nachweisen kann. Da Muscheln sehr viel Wasser filtern, reagieren sie besonders stark auf Veränderungen und sind ein guter Indikator für im Wasser befindliche Schadstoffe.

Die Forschungen von Moulaye sind Teil des ersten Frühwarnsystems in Afrika, mit dem negative Auswirkungen des Erdöl- und -gasabbaus vor der Küste Mauretaniens auf die Meereslebewesen überwacht werden. Das Projekt kann dabei auch indirekt nachweisen, ob seitens der Industrie geeignete Maßnahmen zum Schutz vor Verschmutzung und Beschädigung des marinen Ökosystems umgesetzt werden.

Eine Million Menschen, ein Drittel der Bevölkerung des Landes, lebt an der Küste Mauretaniens. Der Erhalt der Fischerei ist wesentlich für die Ernährung dieser Menschen. Der Schutz der Meere vor Schadstoffen ist ebenso wie die nachhaltige Nutzung der Ressourcen ein entscheidender Faktor für die Zukunft des Landes. Neben dem Forschungsprojekt unterstützt die Bundesregierung darum auch das nachhaltige Management der natürlichen Ressourcen und die nachhaltige Fischerei.

Vorteile für alle

Seit dem 13. Jahrhundert kultivieren die Berberfrauen in Marokko den Arganbaum. Sie sammeln die Früchte, entfernen das Fruchtfleisch und pressen aus den kleinen Samen ein hochwertiges Öl, das in der traditionellen Medizin und in der Kosmetik verwendet wird.

Fortschritt aus uraltem Wissen

Dieses Öl wird inzwischen auch in Europa immer stärker nachgefragt, nicht zuletzt, nachdem neue Forschungsergebnisse  zeigen, dass das Öl sowohl Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen als auch Falten vorbeugen könnte.

Damit die Berberfrauen, andere indigenen Völker und lokale Gemeinschaften weltweit von dem Gewinn aus der Vermarktung der natürlichen, genetischen Ressourcen ihres Landes und ihres Wissens über deren Nutzung profitieren, wurde das Access and Benefit Sharing (ABS) Konzept, übersetzt „Zugang und Vorteilsausgleich“, entwickelt. Ziel ist es, gesetzliche Grundlagen zu schaffen, die den Zugang zu den natürlichen Ressourcen regeln und die lokale Bevölkerung gleichzeitig an den erzielten Gewinnen und dem durch weitere Forschung gewonnenen Wissen teilhaben zu lassen. ABS will damit auch Wege aus der Armut ermöglichen.

Den Frauen in Marokko ist es gelungen, das Arganöl auch in Europa anzubieten. Deutschland unterstützt die Frauenkooperativen mit Weiterbildungen und auf nationaler Ebene bei der Entwicklung einer Gesetzgebung, die diesen Zugang regelt.

Mekongdelta: Der Wald kehrt zurück

Der Wald kehrt zurück ins Mekongdelta

Der Steg aus Bambus ist nur einen halben Meter breit. Bei jedem Schritt quietscht und schwankt er ein wenig. Thach Soal geht den hölzernen Weg entlang und zeigt auf den Boden. "Bis 1992 standen hier Häuser", so der 66-jährige Bauer, "doch sie sind bei einem schweren Sturm zerstört worden."

Nichts deutet mehr darauf hin, dass es an dieser Stelle einmal Gebäude gab. Stattdessen wächst ein dichter Mangrovenwald mit bis zu zwei Meter hohen Pflanzen. Ihre fächerartigen Wurzeln haben sich tief in den Boden gegraben. Der etwa kniehohe Steg soll verhindern, dass Dorfbewohner auf dem Weg zum Meer die Wurzeln beschädigen.

Das Dorf Au Tho B in Vietnams Mekongdelta ist Schauplatz eines Feldversuchs. Dabei sollen Mangroven das Voranschreiten des Meeres stoppen und das dahinterliegende Land schützen. Nationale und lokale Behörden sowie die Anwohner der betroffenen Küstendörfer sind daran beteiligt. Die Region ist vom Klimawandel besonders stark bedroht. Der Weltklimarat hat Vietnam sogar als eines der am stärksten betroffenen Länder überhaupt identifiziert.

Vom Klimawandel bedrohte Region

Weite Teile des Mekongdeltas liegen weniger als einen Meter über dem Meeresspiegel. Sein Ansteigen und die immer häufiger auftretenden Wetterextreme gefährden die Region zunehmend. Wenn bei hohen Fluten oder Stürmen Meerwasser auf die Felder spült, werden diese auf Jahre hin unbrauchbar – und das in der drittgrößten Wirtschaftsregion Vietnams, einem wichtigen Anbaugebiet für Reis. Auch die Bevölkerungsdichte ist hoch: Rund ein Fünftel der Einwohner des Landes lebt hier, etwa 17 Millionen Menschen.

Die schützenden Mangroven endeten häufig als Brennholz. Vietnams Behörden sind sich des Problems seit langem bewusst. Bereits in den 1990er Jahren begannen sie, zerstörte Mangrovenwälder entlang der Küste wiederaufzuforsten. In Au Tho B war von dem natürlichen Wald, der sich in diesem Teil Vietnams einmal nahezu entlang der gesamten Küste erstreckte, seinerzeit nichts mehr übrig. Doch die neu angepflanzten Mangroven hatten es schwer. "Die Leute haben damals keine Rücksicht genommen", sagt Thach Soal. Viele von ihnen hätten, obwohl es verboten war, die Mangroven gefällt und als Brennholz genutzt oder auf dem Markt verkauft. Die Folge: Der Mangrovenwald blieb dünn und konnte dem immer weiter voranschreitenden Meer kaum etwas entgegensetzen.

Deutsches Engagement

Die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit verfolgt seit 2011 einen anderen Ansatz: Die lokale Bevölkerung wird in die Bewirtschaftung der Mangroven direkt eingebunden.

Die Bewohner der Küstendörfer, die an der Wiederaufforstung beteiligt sind, erhalten privilegierten Zugang zu dem Mangrovenwald. Nur sie dürfen in ihm totes Holz sammeln und Krabben, Fische und andere Meerestiere fangen. Gleichzeitig ist es die kostengünstigste Art, den Wald zu bewirtschaften.

In Au Tho B hat dieser Ansatz offensichtlich funktioniert: "Uns ist jetzt klar, dass wir davon profitieren, wenn wir den Wald gemeinsam schützen, daher machen wir das von uns aus", sagt Thach Soal, der wie viele Bauern der Region auf seinem Land unter anderem Zwiebeln und Chilischoten anbaut. Er ist Sprecher einer Gruppe, die sich mit Unterstützung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) gegründet hat, um die Bewirtschaftung der Mangrovenwälder zu organisieren. Die Gruppe ist offen für alle Dorfbewohner. Um Mitglied zu werden, müssen Interessierte sich allerdings verpflichten, an den regelmäßigen Treffen teilzunehmen und die Regeln für den Mangrovenschutz einzuhalten.

Erfolge

"Seit dem Beginn des Projekts hat sich unser Einkommen um etwa 60 Prozent erhöht", sagt Thach Soal. Der Erlös aus dem Verkauf der Fische und Krabben und des gesammelten Holzes ist deutlich gestiegen.

An den Herausforderungen durch den Klimawandel wird sich so schnell nichts ändern. Zwar habe es in der Region schon seit 1997 keinen schweren Sturm mehr gegeben, erzählt Thach Soal. Starke Fluten kämen aber immer wieder vor. Die Sorge der Bauern, dass dabei Salzwasser auf die Felder drängt und den Boden schwer beschädigt, ist nun deutlich kleiner. "Wir hören nachts manchmal, wie die Wellen gegen die Mangroven schlagen – das ist richtig laut. Angst vor dem Wasser haben wir aber nicht mehr."

Im Fokus: Karibik

Erhalt der biologischen Vielfalt in der Karibik – an Land und zur See

Der natürliche Reichtum in der Karibik ist einzigartig. Die Vereinten Nationen nennen die Staaten der Region eine "Supermacht der biologischen Vielfalt". Aber diese Vielfalt ist in Gefahr, denn ihr Erhalt findet oft nicht genug Beachtung. Durch ihre Lage am Rand des stürmischen Atlantiks ist die Inselwelt zudem von den Folgen des Klimawandels besonders betroffen.

Ein ehrgeiziges Projekt mit Unterstützung der Bundesregierung setzt sich für den Erhalt dieser Vielfalt ein.

Eine gefährdete Region

Extreme Wetterereignisse nagen buchstäblich an den Küsten der vielen, oft kleinen Inseln. Unwetter und Überflutungen zerstören nicht nur Straßen und Häuser, sondern auch landwirtschaftliche Flächen. Seit 1980 sind zudem ein Drittel der Korallenriffe vor den Inseln verschwunden, eine wichtige natürliche Barriere gegen Brandung und Sturmfluten.

Einkommen aus dem Wasser

Auch einer der traditionellen Haupterwerbsquellen der Inselwelt, die Fischerei, ist von der Zerstörung der Riffe betroffen. Sie gehören zu den artenreichsten Lebensräumen der Erde. Doch Überfischung und ungeklärtes Abwasser gefährden diese einzigartige Unterwasserwelt, die vielen Menschen dort als wichtige Lebensgrundlage dient und Touristen aus aller Welt anlockt. Eine intakte Natur ist eine der wichtigsten Attraktionen der Karibik und sichert vielen Menschen Arbeit und Auskommen.

Ganzheitlich handeln

Land und See bilden in der Karibik eine Einheit. Deshalb verfolgt das Vorhaben Caribbean Aqua-Terrestrial Solutions (CATS), auf Deutsch "Karibische Wasser- und Landlösungen", das Ziel, die Natur ganzheitlich zu schützen. Das Ridge-to-Reef-Konzept – von den Regenwäldern in den Bergen bis zu den Korallenriffen im Meer – berücksichtigt die Wirkung von nachhaltiger Landwirtschaft und Waldnutzung einschließlich der Wasserversorgung und Abwasserentsorgung auf die Ökosysteme an Land und im Meer.

Gemeinsam biologische Vielfalt schützen

Die Regierungen von acht karibischen Ländern arbeiten gemeinsam mit Vertretern der einheimischen Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft und mit Unterstützung der Bundesregierung an diesem Programm. Gemeinsames Handeln zum Schutz der biologischen Vielfalt ist dringend nötig, aber auch nicht einfach herzustellen. Denn die karibischen Staaten verteilen sich über fast drei Millionen Quadratkilometer, die achtfache Fläche Deutschlands. Rund 40 Millionen Menschen leben hier auf über 7.000 Inseln, mit ganz unterschiedlichen Traditionen, Verwaltungsstrukturen und wirtschaftlichen Interessen.

Meer und Land gehören zusammen

Der wichtigste Wirtschaftszweig in der Karibik war traditionell die Landwirtschaft, die heute Nummer zwei nach dem Tourismus und deshalb immer noch zentral für die Menschen dort ist. Gleichzeitig spielen Land- und Forstwirtschaft eine Schlüsselrolle für die biologische Vielfalt. Sie schützen vor Bodenerosion und sind dafür verantwortlich, wenn schädliche Düngemittel über Bäche und Flüsse in die vorgelagerten Küstenzonen und marine Schutzgebiete gelangen. Die Bundesregierung unterstützt die Gegend deshalb auch dabei, die Praktiken in der Landwirtschaft auf Nachhaltigkeit umzustellen, einschließlich wassersparender Bewässerungsmethoden oder Maßnahmen für eine höhere Wasserqualität.

Meeresschutzgebiete

Als Teil des Programms entstehen gemeinsam mit Anwohnern und Behörden auch Meeresschutzgebiete. Im Inselstaat Saint Lucia begann 2014 ein gemeindebasiertes Pilotprojekt zum Schutz von Lederschildkröten, die an der Atlantikküste ihre Eier ablegen. Neben dem Artenschutz erhalten die Menschen vor Ort neue Perspektiven: Wenn sie vorher von der Wilderei lebten, widmen sie sich nun als ausgebildete Wildhüter dem Schutz der Schildkröten.

Mit Erfolg: Es wird deutlich weniger gewildert, die Schutzgebiete ziehen umweltbewusste Touristen an und die Bevölkerung vor Ort erschließt sich neue Einkommensquellen: in Hotels, der Gastronomie, in Transportunternehmen oder in der Landwirtschaft, weil die Besucher auch versorgt sein wollen.

Vielfalt kennen und schätzen lernen

Damit das Programm langfristig Erfolge zeigt, sind auch die Jüngsten beteiligt: Schulen greifen das Thema Nachhaltigkeit im Unterricht auf. In "Summer School Camps" werden Schülerinnen und Schüler mit dem Konzept von marinen Schutzgebieten vertraut gemacht. Dazu gehören auch Schwimm- und Schnorchelkurse im Korallenriff. Das ist ein großes Vergnügen – und vermittelt wertvolles Wissen um die Schätze der Natur vor der eigenen Haustür.