One photo – One story

Protecting wildlife from poachers

Morgan Mupenda is a police officer in Zambia. He heads the Rhino Monitoring Group at the Zambia Wildlife Authority in the North Luangwa National Park. He is using his hand-held antenna to locate black rhinos tagged with a transmitter, to track their movements and help protect them from poachers.

Rhinos and medicine

There were once 12,000 of these splendid animals in Zambia. Today they have virtually been wiped out, chiefly through poaching. The demand for rhino horn is particularly strong in Asia, where ground horn is used among other things as a status symbol and supposedly to cure cancer – even though there is no proof that it has any effect.

Together with the Frankfurt Zoological Society, Germany has for many years been supporting the protection of rhinos in the national park. Although the animals had virtually been wiped out, it has since been possible to establish over two dozen rhinoceroses once again. In this setting infrastructure development, reforestation and burgeoning tourism are also creating job opportunities and prospects for the local population. Since leaving school nine years ago, Morgan Mupenda has been working to protect these animals.

To complement this Germany is supporting measures to reduce the demand for poached horn. More horn is bought In Viet Nam than in any other country. Through the GIZ and the non-governmental wildlife monitoring network TRAFFIC, the German government is in dialogue with the agency responsible for traditional medicine at the Vietnamese Ministry of Health. These activities aim to jointly raise public awareness of poaching and the threat posed to rhinos, as well as alternative treatment methods.

Preserving our forests

One of the most crucial functions of forests is their ability to store carbon dioxide, which curbs climate change. For this reason forestry student Shofan Nasrullah is measuring the circumference of a tree in East Kalimantan in Indonesia, to calculate just how much carbon dioxide the forest is capable of storing.

A new source of income from sustainable forest management

Here the aim is to place a financial value on stored carbon dioxide. To achieve this, local inhabitants are being given an opportunity to earn additional income by protecting and sustainably managing the forest.

The Indonesian government’s actions to mitigate climate change include comprehensive reforms in the Indonesian forestry sector, such as the introduction of forestry offices to organise land rights and deliver services to the local population. The offices will also regulate access to the forest and its resources fairly, and at the same time monitor the forest in order to prevent illegal activities.

These reforms are the outcome of the German government's cooperation with Indonesia in the Reducing Emissions from Deforestation and Forest Degradation (REDD+) programme under the Framework Convention on Climate Change. The programme is designed to change the way people think. Forests that are not cleared and remain intact possess financial value for mitigating climate change. They are also able to continue performing their manifold tasks, which include preventing erosion, storing water, preserving biological diversity, and providing their inhabitants with both a place to live and livelihoods.

Sustainable ocean use

Moulaye Wagne is a researcher from the Mauritanian Institute for Oceanography and Fisheries (IMROP). Together with a team from the Banc d’Arguin National Park, he is examining a shellfish for changes caused by pollutants.

Preserving the abundance of natural resources

In a programme in Mauritania supported by the German government, Moulaye is studying how to demonstrate the presence of toxic substances in living organisms. Since mussels filter a very large amount of water they respond particularly sensitively to changes, and are a very good indicator of pollutants contained in water.

Moulaye's research forms part of the first early warning system in Africa to monitor the negative impacts on marine organisms of oil and gas extraction off the cost of Mauritania. The project can also demonstrate indirectly whether industry is taking sufficient measures to protect against pollution and damage to the marine ecosystem.

One million people – a third of the country's population – live along the coast of Mauritania. Preserving fisheries is key to feeding these people. Like the sustainable management of natural resources, protecting the ocean against pollutants is crucial to the country's future. As well as this research project, the German government is therefore also supporting the sustainable management of natural resources and sustainable fisheries.

Benefits for all

Since the 13th century, the Berber women in Morocco have been cultivating the Argan tree. They gather the fruit, remove the flesh and from the small seeds they press a high grade oil which is used in traditional medicine and the cosmetic industry.

Progress from ancient knowledge

This oil is now in increasing demand in Europe too, not least since the latest research results show that it might prevent both cardiovascular diseases and wrinkles.

The Access and Benefit-sharing approach was developed to enable the Berber women, other indigenous peoples and local communities worldwide to share in the profits from marketing their countries’ natural genetic resources, and their knowledge on how to exploit them. It aims to create legislation that will regulate access to natural resources, while at the same time enabling the local population to participate in the profits generated and the knowledge gained from further research. By doing so the ABS approach also aims to create paths out of poverty.

The women in Morocco have also succeeded in marketing the argan oil in Europe. Germany is supporting the women's cooperatives by providing further training, and at the national level is supporting the drafting of legislation to regulate access to these resources.

Ein Bild eine Geschichte

Schutz vor Wilderei

Morgan Mupenda ist Polizist und leitet die Nashorn-Monitoring Gruppe der Wildtierbehörde im Nord-Luangwa Nationalpark in Sambia. Mit seiner Handantenne peilt er nach den mit Sendern markierten Spitzmaulnashörnern, um ihre Bewegungen verfolgen und sie besser vor Wilderern schützen zu können.

Von Nashörnern und Medizin

Von den stattlichen Tieren gab es einst 12.000 Exemplare in Sambia. Heute sind sie vor allem durch Wilderei fast ausgerottet. Besonders stark ist die Nachfrage nach Nasenhorn in Asien, wo das gemahlene Horn unter anderem als Statussymbol und als vermeintliches Mittel gegen Krebs verwendet wird – obwohl keine Wirkung nachgewiesen ist.

Deutschland setzt sich zusammen mit der Zoologischen Gesellschaft Frankfurt seit vielen Jahren für den Schutz der Nashörner im Nationalpark ein. Nachdem die Tiere zwischenzeitlich ausgerottet waren, konnten inzwischen über zwei Dutzend Nashörner wieder angesiedelt werden. Der Ausbau der Infrastruktur, die Wiederaufforstung und der aufkommende Tourismus schaffen dabei auch Arbeitsmöglichkeiten und Perspektiven für die Bevölkerung vor Ort. Morgan Mupenda arbeitet seit seinem Schulabschluss vor neun Jahren für den Schutz der Tiere.

Parallel unterstützt Deutschland Maßnahmen, um die Nachfrage nach gewildertem Horn zu senken. In Vietnam, dem größten Abnehmerland, tritt die Bundesregierung über die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH und die Nichtregierungsorganisation Wildlife Monitoring Network TRAFFIC in den Dialog mit der für traditionelle Medizin im vietnamesischen Gesundheitsministerium zuständigen Behörde, um gemeinsam die Bevölkerung über die Wilderei und Bedrohung der Nashörner sowie über alternative Behandlungsmethoden zu informieren.

Erhalt der Wälder

Die Fähigkeit, CO2 zu speichern, ist eine der wichtigsten Funktionen von Wäldern, die den Klimawandel bremsen. Deshalb misst Forststudent Shofan Nasrullah den Durchmesser eines Baumes in Ostkalimantan in Indonesien: um zu errechnen, wie viel Kohlendioxid das Waldgebiet speichern kann.

Ein neues Einkommen aus nachhaltiger Waldnutzung

Ziel ist es, dem gespeicherten Kohlendioxid einen finanziellen Wert zu geben. So wird für die Anwohnern die Möglichkeit geschaffen, sich durch Waldschutz und schonende Waldnutzung ein zusätzliches Einkommen zu verdienen.

Zu den konkreten klimaschutzrelevanten Aktivitäten der Indonesischen Regierung gehören umfangreiche Reformen im indonesischen Forstsektor wie die Einführung von Forstämtern, die die Landrechte ordnen und Dienstleistungen für die lokale Bevölkerung erbringen werden. Sie sollen den Zugang zum Wald und seinen Ressourcen gerecht regulieren und gleichzeitig den Wald überwachen, um illegale Aktivitäten zu verhindern.

Diese Reformen sind Ergebnis der Zusammenarbeit der Bundesregierung mit Indonesien in dem Programm zur Vermeidung von Entwaldung und Walddegradierung (REDD+) im Rahmen der Klimarahmenkonvention. Das Programm soll zum Umdenken führen: intakte, nicht abgeholzte Wälder haben einen wirtschaftlichen Wert im Klimaschutz und können darüber hinaus ihre vielfältigen Aufgaben weiterhin erfüllen und Erosion vermeiden und Wasser speichern, biologische Vielfalt erhalten und ihren Bewohnern als Wohnraum und Lebensgrundlage dienen.

Nachhaltige Nutzung der Meere

Moulaye Wagne ist Wissenschaftler am mauretanischen Institut für ozeanografische Forschung und Fischerei (IMROP). Zusammen mit einem Team des Banc d’Arguin Nationalparks untersucht er eine Muschel auf Veränderungen durch Schadstoffe.

Natürliche Reichtümer erhalten

Moulaye erforscht in einem Programm in Mauretanien mit Unterstützung der Bundesregierung, wie man giftige Substanzen in lebenden Organismen nachweisen kann. Da Muscheln sehr viel Wasser filtern, reagieren sie besonders stark auf Veränderungen und sind ein guter Indikator für im Wasser befindliche Schadstoffe.

Die Forschungen von Moulaye sind Teil des ersten Frühwarnsystems in Afrika, mit dem negative Auswirkungen des Erdöl- und -gasabbaus vor der Küste Mauretaniens auf die Meereslebewesen überwacht werden. Das Projekt kann dabei auch indirekt nachweisen, ob seitens der Industrie geeignete Maßnahmen zum Schutz vor Verschmutzung und Beschädigung des marinen Ökosystems umgesetzt werden.

Eine Million Menschen, ein Drittel der Bevölkerung des Landes, lebt an der Küste Mauretaniens. Der Erhalt der Fischerei ist wesentlich für die Ernährung dieser Menschen. Der Schutz der Meere vor Schadstoffen ist ebenso wie die nachhaltige Nutzung der Ressourcen ein entscheidender Faktor für die Zukunft des Landes. Neben dem Forschungsprojekt unterstützt die Bundesregierung darum auch das nachhaltige Management der natürlichen Ressourcen und die nachhaltige Fischerei.

Vorteile für alle

Seit dem 13. Jahrhundert kultivieren die Berberfrauen in Marokko den Arganbaum. Sie sammeln die Früchte, entfernen das Fruchtfleisch und pressen aus den kleinen Samen ein hochwertiges Öl, das in der traditionellen Medizin und in der Kosmetik verwendet wird.

Fortschritt aus uraltem Wissen

Dieses Öl wird inzwischen auch in Europa immer stärker nachgefragt, nicht zuletzt, nachdem neue Forschungsergebnisse  zeigen, dass das Öl sowohl Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen als auch Falten vorbeugen könnte.

Damit die Berberfrauen, andere indigenen Völker und lokale Gemeinschaften weltweit von dem Gewinn aus der Vermarktung der natürlichen, genetischen Ressourcen ihres Landes und ihres Wissens über deren Nutzung profitieren, wurde das Access and Benefit Sharing (ABS) Konzept, übersetzt „Zugang und Vorteilsausgleich“, entwickelt. Ziel ist es, gesetzliche Grundlagen zu schaffen, die den Zugang zu den natürlichen Ressourcen regeln und die lokale Bevölkerung gleichzeitig an den erzielten Gewinnen und dem durch weitere Forschung gewonnenen Wissen teilhaben zu lassen. ABS will damit auch Wege aus der Armut ermöglichen.

Den Frauen in Marokko ist es gelungen, das Arganöl auch in Europa anzubieten. Deutschland unterstützt die Frauenkooperativen mit Weiterbildungen und auf nationaler Ebene bei der Entwicklung einer Gesetzgebung, die diesen Zugang regelt.