Content

International

European Partnership for Responsible Minerals (EPRM)

EPRM Logo

 

The European Partnership for Responsible Minerals (EPRM) is a multi-stakeholder initiative dedicated to the promotion of responsible mineral supply chains. It aims at creating better social and economic conditions for miners and mining communities and curbing trade in so-called conflict minerals (tin, tungsten, tantalum, and gold). At the same time, the initiative aims at increasing the number of mines that operate responsibly in conflict regions and securing market access for these mines.

EPRM was founded as a development policy measure to support the EU regulation on conflict minerals. From 2021, the import of tin, tantalum, tungsten, and gold (3TG) will be regulated throughout Europe. Importers of these raw materials must then prove that they have implemented their due diligence obligations to comply with human rights standards in their supply chains and that they do not contribute to conflict financing. However, to have a real impact in the producing countries, the EU regulation must be accompanied by specific support measures on the ground. Otherwise, there is a risk that producing countries will be excluded from relevant value chains or that alternative business relationships will be entered into with customers who do not respect the required standards.

From mining, smelting, and refining to the processing industry - the EPRM brings together different stakeholders along the entire supply chain and implements pilot projects to promote responsible mineral sourcing. These projects cover a large variety of topics and needs, from helping women to access municipal loans in DR Congo to providing information on the origin of the minerals used by processing companies. Besides, EPRM promotes networking and knowledge transfer between the stakeholders in the supply chains of the respective mineral.

The establishment of responsible supply chains and respect for human rights are a priority of the German Development Cooperation. Since January 2020, Germany, represented by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), is a member of the EPRM and thus assumes a pioneering role throughout Europe in implementing human rights standards in the extractives sector. The Extractives for Development (X4D) Sector Programme has supported EPRM on behalf of the BMZ since the initiative was launched at the end of 2016.

 

BMZ glossary

Close window

 

Share page

Hauptinhalt

International

European Partnership for Responsible Minerals (EPRM)

EPRM Logo

 

Die European Partnership for Responsible Minerals (EPRM) ist eine Multistakeholder-Initiative zur Förderung verantwortungsvoller Rohstofflieferketten. Ihr Ziel ist es, bessere soziale und wirtschaftliche Bedingungen für Bergleute und Bergbaugemeinden zu schaffen und den Handel mit sogenannten Konfliktmineralen (Zinn, Wolfram, Tantal und Gold) einzudämmen. Zugleich soll die Anzahl der Minen, die verantwortungsvollen Bergbau in Konfliktregionen betreiben, erhöht und der Marktzugang dieser Minen gesichert werden.

Gegründet wurde die EPRM als entwicklungspolitische Begleitmaßnahme zur EU-Verordnung für Konfliktminerale. Ab 2021 wird die Einfuhr von Zinn, Tantal, Wolfram und Gold (3TG) europaweit gesetzlich geregelt: Importeure der Rohstoffe müssen dann nachweisen, dass sie ihre Sorgfaltspflichten zur Einhaltung von menschenrechtlichen Standards in ihren Lieferketten umsetzen und nicht zur Konfliktfinanzierung beitragen. Um tatsächlich Wirkung in den Produktionsländern zu entfalten, muss die EU-Verordnung mit konkreten Fördermaßnahmen vor Ort flankiert werden. Anderenfalls besteht das Risiko, dass Abbauländer aus relevanten Wertschöpfungsketten ausgeschlossen werden oder alternative Geschäftsbeziehungen mit Abnehmern eingegangen werden, welche die geforderten Standards unterlaufen.

Von der Mine über die Verhüttung und Raffinerie bis hin zur weiterverarbeitenden Industrie - die EPRM bringt unterschiedliche Akteure entlang der gesamten Lieferkette zusammen und fördert mit Pilotprojekten den verantwortungsvollen Rohstoffbezug. Die Projekte reichen von der Unterstützung von Frauen beim Zugang zu kommunalen Krediten in der DR Kongo, bis hin zur Bereitstellung von Informationen für weiterverarbeitende Firmen über die Herkunft der von ihnen verwendeten Rohstoffe. Darüber hinaus fördert die EPRM die Vernetzung und den Wissenstransfer zwischen den Akteuren der Rohstofflieferketten der jeweiligen Minerale.

Der Aufbau verantwortungsvoller Lieferketten und die Wahrung der Menschenrechte sind eine Priorität der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Seit Januar 2020 ist Deutschland, vertreten durch das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ), Mitglied der EPRM und übernimmt somit europaweit eine Vorreiterrolle bei der Umsetzung menschenrechtlicher Standards im Rohstoffsektor. Im Auftrag des BMZ hat das Sektorprogramm Rohstoffe und Entwicklung die EPRM bereits seit der Gründung der Initiative Ende 2016 unterstützt.

Lexikon der Entwicklungspolitik

Fenster schließen

 

Seite teilen