Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), which is based in Paris, has been in existence since 1961. Its predecessor was the Organisation for European Economic Co-operation (OEEC), which was founded in 1948 by 18 European states in order to develop a joint concept for cooperation and economic reconstruction in the wake of the Second World War. The main task of the organisation was to administer the funds received under the Marshall Plan.

Today the OECD embraces the 34 major industrialised nations. Accession negotiations are also currently ongoing with Russia.

The OECD aims to foster policies intended to

  • help achieve optimum economic development and employment in member states, as well as a rising standard of living, thus contributing to global economic development, while ensuring financial stability,

  • help ensure healthy economic growth in member states and in non-member states that are undergoing economic development, and

  • contribute to expanding global trade on the basis of multilateralism and non-discrimination, and in line with international commitments.

The Development Assistance Committee (DAC)

The OECD has more than 200 committees, working groups and groups of experts, including the Development Assistance Committee (DAC). The DAC aims to provide a platform for consultation in order to enhance the quality and quantity of development cooperation provided by member states.

The Committee lays down quality standards for development cooperation. It elaborates guiding principles and guidelines with respect to major development topics such as enhancing aid effectiveness, poverty reduction, security and development, and capacity building.

Another key area of the work of the Committee is the peer review system. DAC member states review their development-policy commitment at regular intervals, using standardised procedures. The implementation of the DAC guidelines is also part of the review.

The Committee has 24 members: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, the USA and the Commission of the European Union.

OECD Development Centre

The OECD Development Centre was set up in 1962 as a semi-autonomous facility within the OECD. The Centre conducts research on economic and social aspects of development cooperation, and holds informal dialogue forums. These forums are attended by representatives from the worlds of politics, science, industry and civil society. Research results and the outputs of special events are published, in paper form and on the Internet. It serves as a forum for an exchange of experience and acts as the link between OECD member states and developing countries.

More information


Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

2, rue André Pascal
75775 Paris Cedex
Phone: +33 / 1 / 45 24 82 00
Fax: +33 / 1 / 45 24 85 00

BMZ glossary

Close window


Share page