A court building in Tbilisi

Relations with the European Union Partnership with Western countries

Georgia is seeking partnership with Western countries. The country is very interested in joining NATO and, in the longer term, accede to the EU. In 2004, the three South Caucasus republics of Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan were made part of the Neighbourhood Policy initiative of the European Union. In 2009, this led to the creation of the Eastern Partnership, which also includes Ukraine, Moldova and Belarus.

In June 2014, the EU and Georgia signed an association and free trade agreement, which entered into force on 1 July 2016.