Content

International

Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI)


Khurmala Oilfield near Makhmour, Iraq

Promoting transparency in the extractive sector, especially in the revenue flows from mining companies to state institutions, is an important aim of German development cooperation. This is why the German Government supports the international Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI), which works to achieve greater financial transparency and accountability in public revenues from the extractive sector.

The Initiative’s aim is to ensure the transparent disclosure of public revenues from the extractive sector, increase those revenues, establish clear conditions for extractive companies and enable civil society to monitor the sector better. The Initiative is supported through voluntary commitments by a growing number of governments of resource-producing countries – now more than 50 – and is put into practice by state and civil society actors in joint efforts with private companies and investors in a multi-stakeholder process. The revenues generated from the extraction of mineral resources and metal ores are disclosed, with the aim of preventing revenues from taxes or mining royalties from state actors or private companies being lost in corruption channels. EITI helps inform citizens of resource-rich countries how much tax and other levies mining companies have paid in their countries and what the state has received from the sector in the form of public revenues. EITI thus gives citizens an instrument with which they can effectively hold companies and governments to account.


German development cooperation has supported EITI politically, financially and technically ever since the Initiative was set up in 2003. This includes assisting national EITI processes in partner countries through bilateral and regional programmes and contributing to the international EITI secretariat and to the EITI trust fund administered by the World Bank. By granting support totalling 26 million euros, German development cooperation is among the leading supporters of EITI worldwide. 

The Extractives and Development sector programme supports BMZ to assert its interests and promote the dissemination and further development of the Initiative. To do this, the programme cooperates with international partners in carrying out regular training for national EITI secretariats, state actors and civil society in partner countries on how to implement EITI. The programme is also evaluated the initiative’s effectiveness and impacts in the study Assessing the Effectiveness and Impact of the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative. Based on this study, the sector programme developed the guideline on Monitoring and Evaluation (M&E) of EITI Implementation as part of a comprehensive advisory package for national EITI processes.


BMZ glossary

Close window

 

Share page

Hauptinhalt

International

Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI)


Khurmala - Ölfeld nahe Makhmour, Irak.

Die Förderung von Transparenz im Rohstoffsektor, insbesondere in Zahlungsströmen von Bergbauunternehmen an staatliche Institutionen, ist ein wichtiges Ziel der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Deswegen unterstützt die Bundesregierung die internationale Initiative Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) für mehr Finanztransparenz und Rechenschaftspflicht bei öffentlichen Einnahmen aus dem Rohstoffsektor.

Ziel der Initiative ist es, staatliche Einnahmen aus dem Rohstoffsektor transparent offenzulegen und zu steigern, klare Bedingungen für Rohstoffunternehmen zu schaffen und Kontrollmöglichkeiten für die Zivilgesellschaft zu verbessern. Die Initiative wird in freiwilliger Selbstverpflichtung von mittlerweile über 50 Regierungen rohstoffproduzierender Länder getragen und gemeinsam von staatlichen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteuren sowie von Unternehmen und Kapitalanlegern in einem Multi-Stakeholder-Prozess umgesetzt. Die Einnahmen aus dem Abbau von mineralischen und metallischen Rohstoffen werden offengelegt. Damit soll verhindert werden, dass Einnahmen aus Steuern oder Förderabgaben von staatlichen Akteuren oder Unternehmen in Korruptionskanälen versickern. Mithilfe von EITI erhalten Bürger in rohstoffreichen Ländern Informationen darüber, wieviel Steuern und Abgaben Bergbauunternehmen in ihren Ländern gezahlt haben und welche öffentlichen Einnahmen der Staat aus dem Sektor erhalten hat. EITI gibt Bürgern damit ein Instrument in die Hand, um Unternehmen und Regierungen wirkungsvoll zur Verantwortung ziehen.


Die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit fördert EITI seit dem Entstehen der Initiative im Jahr 2003 in politischer, finanzieller und technischer Hinsicht. Die Förderung umfasst die Unterstützung von nationalen EITI-Prozessen in Partnerländern durch bilaterale und regionale Programme und Beiträge zum internationalen EITI-Sekretariat und zum EITI-Treuhandfonds der Weltbank. Mit einem Fördervolumen von insgesamt 26 Millionen Euro gehört die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zu den international führenden Unterstützern der EITI.

Das Sektorprogramm Rohstoffe und Entwicklung unterstützt das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) darin, seine Interessen wahrzunehmen und die Verbreitung und Weiterentwicklung der Initiative zu fördern. Dazu führt das Sektorprogramm in Kooperation mit internationalen Partnern regelmäßig Trainingsmaßnahmen für nationale EITI-Sekretariate, staatliche Akteure und die Zivilgesellschaft in Partnerländern zur Umsetzung der EITI durch. Außerdem hat das Sektorprogramm  die Effektivität und Wirkungen der Initiative im Rahmen der Studie Assessing the Effectiveness and Impact of the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative untersucht. Auf Grundlage des Studie hat das Sektorpogramm die Handreichung Monitoring and Evaluation (M&E) of EITI Implementation - Guideline  für die Entwicklung von nationalen Wirkungsmonitoringsystemen als ein Element eines umfassenden Beratungspakets für nationale EITI-Prozesse entwickelt. 


Lexikon der Entwicklungspolitik

Fenster schließen

 

Seite teilen