Post-2015: Leading by example and supporting the process

Children in Brazil

Children in Brazil

© Thomas Köhler/photothek

We regard our G7 Presidency (...) as an opportunity to work towards agreeing a post-2015 agenda. We want to launch a global partnership in Germany that not only exists on paper, but impacts the everyday lives of as many people as possible (...).

German Chancellor Angela Merkel at the One World – Forum for the Future in Berlin

The global poverty rate has halved over the past 15 years. Important steps have been taken to pave the way for lifestyles that use resources more sparingly. Despite the progress that has been made, economic activity the world over is still neither socially nor environmentally sustainable: almost 1.3 billion people still have less than 1.25 US dollars a day to live on (UNDP, 2014). If resource consumption continues at its current pace, humanity will need far more than just the one planet that we have to live on. Climate change caused by human activity is increasingly leading to extreme weather events with many deaths and economic losses.

In 2015, the year in which Germany is holding the G7 Presidency, new, universally applicable Sustainable Development Goals are being prepared. The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) that were agreed in 2000 will soon expire. The post-2015 development agenda – the new roadmap for sustainable development – is striving for a balance between economic progress, social equity and ecological sense. The agenda is currently being negotiated at international level and is to be adopted at a UN summit in New York in September 2015. Its goals will be binding on all nations in the world and will guide their future actions – it will thus be a compact on the world's future.

Results of the G7 Summit in Elmau

As part of its G7 Presidency, the German government has been lobbying for an ambitious outcome from the UN negotiating process. This is not an attempt to duplicate the negotiations. Rather, it is an effort to ensure that the major industrialised countries in the G7 group send positive signals for a new partnership in the international community, leading by good example and preparing the implementation of the post-2015 development agenda. The German Presidency has managed to succeed in its endeavour. In their statement, the G7 have made clear that they support the envisaged new compact on the world's future for sustainable development while recognising the great importance of official development assistance, especially for the poorest countries. Germany has also succeeded in ensuring that the commitment to providing 0.7 per cent of GDP for development cooperation has been explicitly included in the final statement. This is an important signal to the developing and emerging economies with which we will negotiate in New York in September.

The success of the post-2015 agenda will depend, not least, on whether all stakeholders are on board: businesses, civil society organisations, academia and citizens. The German government attaches great importance to the participation forums that have been established, including the Dialogue Forum on the Post-2015 Agenda. Through the drafting process for the Charter for the Future (www.zukunftscharta.de - in German), the BMZ has already launched an important dialogue with all social stakeholders. The goals that have been set can only be achieved within a new global partnership, in a spirit of mutual respect, on the basis of common values with all relevant stakeholders working together.

The Charter for the Future is based on the understanding that if we are to meet the most urgent challenges in a changed development policy environment, we must embrace a set of common goals within a new global partnership. We must break out of the traditional silo mentalities of donor and recipient countries to forge a global partnership in which each and every country and actor assumes its share of responsibility. This partnership should be founded on the universal goals of sustainable development.

from the Introduction of the Charter for the Future "ONE WORLD – Our Responsibility"

Post-2015: Mit eigenem Beispiel vorangehen und den Prozess unterstützen

Kinder in Brasilien

Kinder in Brasilien

© Thomas Köhler/photothek

Wir sehen unsere G7-Präsidentschaft … als eine Chance an, gerade auch auf die Post-2015-Agenda hinzuwirken. Wir wollen in Deutschland eine globale Partnerschaft initiieren, die nicht nur auf dem Papier steht, sondern die sich auch im Alltag von möglichst vielen Menschen auswirkt (…)

Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel auf dem EINEWELT-Zukunftsforum in Berlin

In den vergangenen 15 Jahren ist es gelungen, die Armut weltweit zu halbieren. Es wurden wichtige Weichen gestellt für eine ressourcenschonendere Lebensweise. Trotz dieser Fortschritte wirtschaftet die Welt weder sozial noch ökologisch nachhaltig: Knapp 1,3 Milliarden Menschen leben weiterhin von weniger als 1,25 US-Dollar pro Tag (UNDP, 2014). Beim aktuellen Ressourcenverbrauch der Menschheit würden wir künftig weit mehr als nur den einen Planeten benötigen, den wir bewohnen. Der von Menschen verursachte Klimawandel führt zunehmend zu extremen Wettereignissen mit vielen Todesfällen und wirtschaftlichen Verlusten.

2015, im Jahr der deutschen G7-Präsidentschaft, werden neue, weltweit gültige Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung erarbeitet. Die im Jahr 2000 vereinbarten Millenniumsentwicklungsziele (MDGs) laufen aus. Die Post-2015-Agenda – der neue Fahrplan für nachhaltige Entwicklung – sucht die Balance zwischen wirtschaftlichem Fortschritt, sozialem Ausgleich und ökologischer Vernunft. Die Agenda wird derzeit auf internationaler Ebene verhandelt und soll bei einem UN-Gipfeltreffen im September 2015 in New York verabschiedet werden. Die Ziele der Agenda werden für alle Staaten gültig und handlungsleitend sein– ein Weltzukunftsvertrag.

Ergebnisse des G7-Gipfels in Elmau

Die Bundesregierung hat sich im Rahmen ihrer G7-Präsidentschaft für einen ambitionierten Abschluss des Verhandlungsprozesses eingesetzt. Dabei geht es nicht um Duplizierung der Verhandlungen. Vielmehr geht es darum, dass die G7 als wichtige Industrieländer positive Signale für eine neue Partnerschaft in der internationalen Gemeinschaft aussenden, mit gutem Beispiel vorangehen und die Umsetzung der Post-2015-Agenda vorbereiten. Dies ist unter deutschen Vorsitz gelungen. Die G7 machen in ihrem Kommuniqué klar: Sie unterstützen den angestrebten neuen Weltzukunftsvertrag für nachhaltige Entwicklung und würdigen gleichzeitig die wichtige Bedeutung staatlicher Entwicklungsleistungen vor allem für die ärmsten Länder. Es gelang auch, die Verpflichtung, 0,7 Prozent des Bruttoinlandproduktes (BIP) für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zu verwenden, explizit in der Abschlusserklärung zu verankern. Das ist ein wichtiges Signal für die Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländer, mit denen wir in New York im September verhandeln werden.

Der Erfolg der Post-2015-Agenda hängt nicht zuletzt davon ab, dass alle mitmachen: Unternehmen, zivilgesellschaftliche Gruppen, die Wissenschaft, Bürgerinnen und Bürger. Die Bundesregierung legt großen Wert auf die hierfür eingerichteten Beteiligungsformate wie das Dialogforum Post-2015-Agenda. Mit der Erarbeitung der Zukunftscharta des BMZ wurde bereits ein wichtiger Dialog mit allen gesellschaftlichen Akteuren begonnen (www.zukunftscharta.de). Nur durch eine neue globale Partnerschaft, in gegenseitigem Respekt, mit gemeinsam getragenen Werten und in einer Anstrengung aller maßgeblichen Kräfte, können die gesteckten Ziele erreicht werden.

Grundlage dieser Zukunftscharta ist die Einsicht, dass gemeinsame Ziele in einer neuen globalen Partnerschaft notwendig sind, um in einem veränderten entwicklungspolitischen Umfeld die drängenden Herausforderungen zu bewältigen. Anstelle der klassischen Zweiteilung in Geber- und Empfängerländern ist eine globale Partnerschaft vonnöten, bei der alle Länder und Akteure Verantwortung übernehmen. Basis dieser Partnerschaft sind die universell gültigen Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung.

aus dem Einleitungstext der Zukunftscharta "EINEWELT – unsere Verantwortung"