Elmau meeting with African partners

Group photo of the G7 leaders together with the Outreach guests

Group photo of the G7 leaders together with the Outreach guests

© Presse- und Informationsamt der Bundesregierung/Guido Bergmann

On the second day of the Elmau summit, the heads of state and government of Ethiopia, Liberia, Nigeria, Senegal and Tunisia and the Chairperson of the Commission of the African Union were invited to an outreach meeting for an in-depth dialogue on global policy issues, Africa, and the development initiatives of the G7. The meeting was also attended by representatives of Iraq and international organisations.

By holding this meeting, the German G7 Presidency demonstrated its interest in forging a global partnership: the G7 heads of state and government did not talk about Africa but with Africa, discussing global policy issues and the development initiatives to be launched by the summit. In that way, our partners were also able to have their perspectives reflected in the summit debates.

Elmau outcomes and what they mean for Africa

Many of the G7 initiatives launched in Elmau are of direct significance for Africa. To name but a few examples:

  • Climate. The G7, in cooperation with the African Union, want to install an extra 10 gigawatts in renewable energy capacity in Africa by 2020. This is roughly equivalent to the capacity of ten large coal-fired power plants.
  • Food and nutrition security. The new goal of the G7 to lift 500 million people out of hunger and malnutrition is of great relevance for the African continent, as almost a quarter of Africa's people continue to live in hunger.
  • Health. There will be specific actions to prevent crises such as the Ebola epidemic, there will be more research into neglected tropical diseases, and expanded immunisation programmes will be carried out through Gavi. This will directly benefit people in Africa.
  • Women. The economic empowerment of women reduces poverty and inequality. The G7 initiative on women's economic empowerment through technical and vocational education and training complements the decision of the African Union to make 2015 the Year of Women's Empowerment.

Continuing the dialogue with African partners

Africa is changing rapidly and has become a very dynamic continent. It holds huge potential, but there are also risks. Stepping up regional cooperation can help Africa to speak with one voice and become an increasingly important actor on the global political stage.

The G7/G8 countries have long supported African states in their reform efforts so as to strengthen the basis for peace and security, growth and sustainable development on the continent. The G7 heads of state and government have each appointed personal representatives for Africa to help further advance the continent's interests. The German Chancellor's Personal Representative for Africa in the BMZ is Günter Nooke.

In order to ensure continuity in the dialogue with Africa, the Africa Partnership Forum will be restructured to become the Africa Global Partnership Forum. The restructuring is aimed, among other things, at increasing African ownership and encouraging the active participation of emerging economies. Germany currently co-chairs the forum.

Das Treffen mit afrikanischen Partnern in Elmau

Gruppenfoto der G7-Staats- und Regierungschefs zusammen mit den Outreach-Gästen

Gruppenfoto der G7-Staats- und Regierungschefs zusammen mit den Outreach-Gästen

© Presse- und Informationsamt der Bundesregierung/Guido Bergmann

Für das Gipfeltreffen in Elmau wurden die Staats- und Regierungschefs aus Äthiopien, Liberia, Nigeria, Senegal und Tunesien sowie die Vorsitzende der Kommission der Afrikanischen Union zu einem ausführlichen Dialog zu weltpolitischen Themen, Afrika und den entwicklungspolitischen G7-Initiativen ("Outreach") am zweiten Gipfeltag eingeladen. An dem Outreach nahmen ebenfalls Irak und Vertreterinnen und Vertreter internationaler Organisationen teil.

Die deutsche G7-Präsidentschaft hat mit diesem Outreach ein Signal für globale Partnerschaft gesetzt: Die G7-Staats- und Regierungschefs sprachen nicht "über", sondern "mit" Afrika zu weltpolitischen Themen Afrika und den entwicklungspolitischen Initiativen des Gipfels. Dadurch konnten die Perspektiven unserer Partner in die Gipfeldiskussion einfließen.

Die Ergebnisse von Elmau und ihre Bedeutung für Afrika

Viele der in Elmau beschlossenen G7-Initiativen betreffen den afrikanischen Kontinent ganz unmittelbar – hier nur einige Beispiele:

  • Im Bereich Klima: Zusammen mit der Afrikanischen Union sollen bis 2020 in Afrika zusätzliche 10 Gigawatt Erneuerbare Energien installiert werden; das entspricht etwa der Leistung von 10 großen Kohlekraftwerken!
  • Im Bereich Ernährungssicherung: Das neue Ziel der G7, 500 Millionen Menschen aus Hunger und Mangelernährung zu führen, ist für den afrikanischen Kontinent von hoher Bedeutung. Denn fast ein Viertel der Einwohner Afrikas sind weiterhin von Hunger betroffen.
  • Im Bereich Gesundheit: Die konkreten Maßnahmen zur Vermeidung von Krisen wie der Ebola-Krise, die verstärkte Forschung zu vernachlässigten Tropenkrankheiten und die Ausweitung von Impfprogrammen durch Gavi – davon profitieren die Menschen Afrikas unmittelbar.
  • Im Bereich Frauen: Armut und Ungleichheit sinken, wenn Frauen besser in die Wirtschaft eingebunden sind. Die aktuelle G7-Initiative zur wirtschaftlichen Stärkung von Frauen durch berufliche Bildung greift das Motto der Afrikanischen Union für 2015 als Jahr des wirtschaftlichen "Empowerment" von Frauen konkret auf.

Den Dialog mit afrikanischen Partnern auch künftig führen

Afrika wandelt sich rasant und ist heute ein sehr dynamischer Kontinent. Er hat große Potenziale, zugleich gibt es Risiken. Eine intensivere regionale Zusammenarbeit kann dazu beitragen, dass Afrika zunehmend mit einer Stimme spricht und zu einem immer wichtigeren Akteur der globalen Politik wird.

Die Industrieländer unterstützen im Rahmen der G7/G8 bereits seit Längerem die afrikanischen Staaten bei ihren Reformbestrebungen, um die Grundlagen für Frieden und Sicherheit, Wachstum sowie nachhaltige Entwicklung in Afrika zu stärken. Um die Belange des Kontinents weiter voranzutreiben, ernannten die Staats- und Regierungschefs Persönliche Afrikabeauftragte. Deutschlands Persönlicher Afrikabeauftragter der Bundeskanzlerin im BMZ ist Günter Nooke.

Um die Kontinuität des Dialogs mit Afrika sicherzustellen, wird das Afrikanische Partnerschaftsforum zur "Africa Global Partnership Platform" umgestaltet. Dabei geht es vor allem um verstärkte afrikanische Ownership und die aktive Einbeziehung von Schwellenländern; Deutschland ist hier aktuell Ko-Vorsitzender.